More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
03/31/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER LucasArts 
DEVELOPER Traveller's Tales 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence, Crude Humor

What do these ratings mean?

I honestly didn't know there were this many Star Wars characters.


Maybe I'm a n00b to the universe, I dunno. I mean, I know the staples… your Yodas, your Obi-Wan Kenobis, Padmes, and Leias, but I didn't know there were green Jedi fellas with fleshy dreadlocks that swing around like crazy while they're hacking off droid limbs. But when they're all little and misshapen and Lego-ized, they're all cute (yup, even the uglier ones). Also, Yoda's almost the same height as everyone else.

click to enlarge(Shenanigans, that's not right! He's supposed to be tiny, a freakin' Jedi superball!)

I didn't watch any of the Clone Wars, which might explain my lack of character knowledge, but I have played a few levels here and there of earlier LSW games, and this plays like every one of them. It's not surprising, since it's a platforming system that works well enough, except for a few camera angles that can skew the depth-of-field and screw with some platform jumps. This is as simplistic as can be: jump, shoot, swing your Lightsaber, use the Force, build stuff, or hop onto a speeder.

There are three main types of stages: the hack-and-slash fare, huge battlefields with armies marching around - sometimes aimlessly - and interstellar warfare. The saber duels are always fun and worth looking forward to, repetitive as they might be, but the space battles have limited appeal, similar to the Gummi ship in the first Kingdom Hearts: You fly on a flat plane and aim only at a few, gigantic pink targets. The big battles get frustrating as they drag on and as you die over and over again.

But one thing does stand out about each and every stage: They have some replay value. Once they're beaten and unlocked, in order to complete every objective and earn every unlockable, you have to trek back in with certain characters and reach a few areas that were blocked before. Some of the levels, though, can last a half-hour or longer each, so taking extra time to go back in and start them over sounds more like a chore than a bonus, especially since the same few puzzles show up time after time.

click to enlargeSelecting missions is all well and good, and when they're accessed on a huge ship that's filled with fun, little things to explore, it's all the more fun. It reminds me a lot of the Toy Box mode in the Toy Story 3 video game: a wide-open space where you can run around, drive, and fly stuff you've unlocked, or just swing for the fences and collect cash as you destroy objects. It does strike me odd that the ship is only carrying people you've met and boxes full of money, but I guess that's what the Lego franchise does... prints cash.

However, the main problem is that even with the replay value in each level, you probably won't really feel like replaying everything again. Unless you're a true completionist, there's not much of a draw to replaying a level that's essentially the same thing as a number of other stages. The only difference is you're bringing your old pal R2-D2 or a dark Jedi with you to unlock a few special spots. It's simply not compelling enough, which is sad because the levels, while fun and long, are also fairly limited in number.

Still, it's Lego Star Wars fer cryin' out loud. The scenes that "tell the story" (read: gibberish from Lego people that sort of look like their Clone Wars counterparts) are all funny, which is a great comedown from the serious games that have taken over the market. And it's not just cute-funny; it's filled with classic slapstick moments… and they're in space! Even if you've played it before, it's still worth playing for the new clips of bonks, slaps, and spilled coffee. And I've met SW nerds before, they just can't get enough… and unlike some of the other recent titles, this series is still worth the attention.
B Revolution report card
  • Droids and spaceships and Jedi, oh my!
  • Controls as tight as ever
  • New stories and cut-scenes
  • Giant ship to explore
  • Battlefield stages drag on
  • It's lost some of the "new Lego" smell
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars
Also known as: Lego Star Wars III The Clone Wars