More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Mass Effect 2: Overlord Review

Eduardo_Reboucas By:
Eduardo_Reboucas
06/25/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER BioWare 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

Massively satisfying.


Mass Effect 2 was an incredible game; that's undeniable. Its DLC, however, have been the very definition of a mixed bag. The free content, Firewalker, was weak, while Kasumi was medorcre at best. However, the third content pack, Overlord, proves to be by far the best yet, with a rounded-out story and plenty of variety.

click to enlargeOnce again, like Kasumi, this new DLC starts out in a strange fashion if you have already finished the main Mass Effect 2 story. Regardless of your decisions and their repercussions, Shepard receives a message from the Illusive Man about a distress call from a distant planet.

Upon arriving, Shepard's crew is greeted by a scientist whose experimental artificial intelligence has gone rogue. Everything is not as it seems, of course, and it's up for the commander to fix things, following either the paragon or the renegade school of thought. The story and setting for Overlord are very well-done, with a strong ending that will hopefully have an impact in Mass Effect 3.

Between combat sections, there's plenty of driving using the new Hammerhead tank... along with platforming. Yes, there are platforming sections... while in a tank. You'll understand what I mean when you get there. It's just plain weird. But considering that what I'm calling a "tank" is actually a hovercraft-like vehicle, it really isn't. It's just not what you'd expect to be doing when playing Mass Effect 2.

click to enlargeAll the elements in Overlord work extremely well as a two-hour content pack. The so-called missions are pretty short and don't feel like actual missions but more like slices of a bigger setting, which begs the question of why they are called missions in the first place.

Overlord is more of an extended side-mission with plenty to do. It'd be hard to ask for more, even though I did miss the thrill of picking up a new equipment piece or memento for my captain's cabin. All the while, I'm curious to see how my decisions will ripple into the final act of the Mass Effect trilogy, since I'm a space renegade with a heart of gold who had plenty of opportunities to be become more of a menace just during this story.

Regardless how you classify it, everything in this DLC is so exciting to play through, that it doesn't make feel like this an attempt to grab even more money from players. Overlord is a tightly knit downloadable content that is well worth your time and 560 Microsoft Points.


B+ Revolution report card
  • The best ME2 DLC yet
  • Plenty of different gameplay scenarios
  • +/- ...but jumping on rocks with a tank is weird
  • Well-rounded story and a great setting
  • No new loot
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Mass Effect 2: Overlord
Also known as: Mass Effect 2 Overlord


More On GameRevolution