More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Medal of Honor: Allied Assault - Spearhead Review

Brian_Gee By:
Brian_Gee
12/01/02
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 64 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Back to the trenches.

Sergeant! Sergeant! Wake your ass up, soldier! If you don't wake up right now, we're all gonna get dead real soon! You sure picked a fine time to go and get knocked on the head. What's that? You don't know what's going on? Aw hell, not again...

Here's some water, son. Drink up and pay attention. You are Sergeant Jack Barnes and we are the 501st Parachute Infantry Regiment, currently in France. We just dropped into Jerry's backyard to lead the Spearhead for the Allied Assault. The Nazis are out to get us and we've got a quick nine missions to complete before this damn war will end.

What are our mission goals? Why, to shoot every guy that's shootin' back at us, of course! You still remember how to fire that weapon, don't you? We've also got average artillery to blow up, a few supply lines to raid and the usual hit to put on some high ranking Nazi officers. Got all that, Sarge? Well then, let's get to it.

I hope you still remember our first mission, because it sure was a doozy. Damn near lost half the squad. Do you remember the gunfire, Sarge? It was like some kind of crazy space light show. A few of the boys got blasted before we got ground side and I think poor Jenkins' chute never opened.

Now that you seem to be getting your memory back, let me brief you on what's new since the last Assault. HQ sent us a bunch of fresh arms for our mission, but none of the guns are really all that different from what we're used to using. There are some grenades, a Brit Webley pistol and a Lee Entfield rifle, plus a handful of new machine guns. It's nice that HQ was thinking about us, but the new toys operate just like the old ones. As long as they still kill the bad guys, it's all the same to me.

The brass has also changed the rules of engagement by allowing us to play with a little melee combat. When using those less fragile weapons (i.e. the ones without an alternate fire), we are now authorized to beat any enemy soldiers we encounter into submission. I personally would have preferred a nice combat knife, but I guess this is war, not hunting...or is it?

We've picked up some new Intel indicating that some strange things have happened to the German army. The word going around says that they're not as quick as they used to be - something in the water, maybe. This has made it a little easier for our boys to go up and whack 'em without getting filled with lead. Their snipers have also been caught drinking on duty, which has made them a lot less lethal then before. I guess they've found out that you've come to play, eh Sarge? Hehe...

As in previous engagements, the brass wants us to stick to the straight and narrow path, which doesn't leave a whole lot of room for exploration on our missions. They say as long as we keep going the way we're supposed to, things will just happen like it's some kind of movie script. Bah, does this look like Hollywood to you? I don't think so.

Besides, all I see are fields, trees and burnt out buildings. It's no vacation spot, but these places don't look half-bad, considering how tragic war can be. That shouldn't come as a surprise since this battle is built on the same engine as the last one.

It also sounds about the same, so remember the golden rule - DO NOT REMOVE YOUR HELMET TO HEAR THE GREAT SOUNDS. You don't want to take a stray slug to the temple and wind up like old Ferguson, eating your next meal out of a straw.

Now son, you know that I hate war. You know I want to be back with the wife and kids just as bad as you do. But boy, this conflict seems too short. Word has it that the fighting was practically over by the time we started and all we're really left with is a three-hour mop-up tour. I was hoping to see more action than that. I can't help feeling that we should have gotten a little more out of this latest battle.

Oh, and one more thing. HQ just sent down 12 new maps for the next engagement, Codename: Multiplayer, whatever that means. There's also some info on a new type of warfare they're calling 'Tug of War'. Basically, the two armies battle each other in order to complete up to five objectives all at once. I hear it's kind of like what's happening over on the Battlefield, but with the ability to knock out an enemy's reinforcement center (or as the Krauts call it, "Spawn Point.")

Crap! Look at the time. Sarge, it's time to move out and get this Spearhead going. It's gonna be a short battle, so let's try to have a little fun before it's over. This Assault isn't much different from the other one, so just keep your finger on the trigger and we'll all get out of this mess alive. Move out!

B Revolution report card
  • Same fun
  • Looks and sounds good
  • Less frustrating AI
  • Very linear
  • Not much added
  • Too short
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Medal of Honor: Allied Assault - Spearhead