More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Tales of Monkey Island Chapter 4 Review

Eduardo_Reboucas By:
Eduardo_Reboucas
12/31/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Telltale Games 
DEVELOPER Telltale Games 
RELEASE DATE  

Guybrush representing Guybrush? This won't end well...


It's true the title of a novel can sometimes give away the ending, but this couldn't be less true in the case of Tales of Monkey Island Chapter 4: The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood. At the end of Lair of the Leviathan, the series' hero Guybrush was captured by pirate hunter Morgan LeFlay right after their escape from the intestinal clutches of a gigantic manatee. Held in prison, the mighty pirate is brought to pirate court on Flotsam Island, as he faces various charges that go beyond the unleashing of the deadly Pox of LeChuck. Along with this courtroom drama, we get to see what Elaine and LeChuck have been up to, as they play a bigger role in this episode which comes as not much of a surprise considering the build up to the finale.

click to enlargeI can't really spoil who the returning character is this time around, since the Wiiware version of the game displays his mug right at the menu screen item - it's Stan, the salesman. This time, however, the over-animated, dubiously-fashioned shark of a man is trying his luck as an attorney at law and is dedicated to exacting revenge against Threepwood for his anguish in previous games. With the importance of his role, Telltale did a heck of a job bringing him up to date with the graphical style of the new series. He waves his arms like crazy and his jacket is just as epileptic-inducing as ever.

Even though we're back at Flotsam Island in this episode, there are plenty of new environments to explore and even old ones make a comeback with new assets. While I tend to hate the randomness of some of the maze puzzles. similar to what we got in older Monkey Island games like Secret of Monkey Island's treasure hunt, Chapter Four has very little of it and only for a very short stretch of time. After defending his case in court, Guybrush gets the chance to explore the island in search of six different items that will power up La Esponja Grande so it can finally cure the Pox.

click to enlargeOf course, things aren't always what they seem at first, nor as simple, thanks to the annoying Marquis and his quest for immortality. The story moves along at a steady pace, and ends with a dramatic bang, something uncommon to the Monkey Island style of storytelling. It leaves a lot to be imagined before the final episode's closure of this season.

There isn't much to complain about Chapter Four. It does its job setting us up for Rise of the Pirate God, the finale, by keeping the same quality of writing, acting, and content we've come to expect from mid-to-end-of-season episodes from TellTale. For them, the season usually start slow at a snail's pace and pick up steadily, like we've seen in the Sam & Max and Wallace & Gromit, with the exception that Tales of Monkey Island's story is closely tied between episodes and plays much more like a TV series and less like a sitcom with independent storylines. This can be both a curse and a blessing depending on the writers' abilities, but I'm happy to say that  so far Tales of Monkey Island has been worth sitting and playing through. I simply cannot wait to see the conclusion, and am already hoping Season Two comes along sometime next year. This court is adjourned.

A- Revolution report card
  • Even better writing and humor
  • Terrific build-up for the finale
  • Yet another great return of an old character
  • Good use of an old location
  • Wiiware version still sounds muffled
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Tales of Monkey Island Chapter 4


More On GameRevolution