More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Mystical Ninja Review

By:

06/06/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

"You can't steal my heart just using a flying peach!"

Well, it's true. You can't. What this actually has to do with my life is unclear. More importantly, what it has to do with the new game Mystical Ninja is equally unclear. However, it is only one of the many bizarre pieces of dialogue in this confusing, obtuse, ridiculous and very, very mediocre game.

Like it or not, Japanese animation, or anime, has been invading our video games for years. In fact, the role-playing games (RPG's) that have come out for video game consoles have been almost exclusively Japanese in origin and inspired by their style of animation. We have many Japanese game designers to thank for games from Legend of Zelda to Lunar to Final Fantasy VII. But while certain aspects of gaming - graphics, CPU power, and memory size - have improved over the years, other areas have become extremely irritating. Specifically, the plot.

The technology is now at a point where you can incorporate a full blown story into a game. Witness the epic scope of Final Fantasy VII. Unfortunately, this in no guarantee that the story will be any good. Witness the mockery of a plot in Final Fantasy VII.

However, Mystical Ninja is where I draw the line. Combine equal parts Super Mario 64, Japanese soap opera, Telly Tubbies, and LSD freakout. Shake (don't stir). And pour into your Nintendo. This will approximate the effect of Mystical Ninja, the most incomprehensible of incomprehensible anime games I have ever seen.

The protagonist is Goemon, a bizarre looking boy with a blue pineapple on his head. Life is happy in his medieval Japanese village until a spaceship files overhead and fires a ray that turns Oedo castle into 'European Castle'. Obviously some sort of nefarious plan... and a call to arms for Goemon and his friends!. Goemon's weapon of choice is, for unknown reasons, a pipe (the kind for smoking, not for plumbing). So first you must climb mount Fuji to get a new pipe. Along the way, you will fight little girls in pink dresses as well as little floating Chinese dragon heads. You should also collect silver fortune dolls. Later in the game, with no explanation or introduction, you blow on the Triton Conch Shell to summon the giant robot 'Impact' who looks like the Dutch boy from gallon paint cans and wears roller skates. Don't make me go on.

Leaving all that aside for the moment, the game itself is solid, but uninspired. It plays just like Super Mario 64: You run around in a 3D world jumping and hitting things. The 'follow-cam' is surprisingly slow and stupid.

Occasionally, you get to jump into your giant robot friend (Impact, remember?) and fight other giant robot meanies. This is done via a first person interface. While an interesting idea, it's not done well and acts more as a diversion than anything else.

The graphics are a bit disappointing. The characters are all freakish looking, especially Gaemon. While everything moves smoothly, it shows no improvement over Mario, which came out over a year ago. I would not be surprised if it used the exact same engine.

The sound effects are actually better than the cartridge-hindered Nintendo norm. There are actually a few fully digitized songs and the main characters have a number of little Japanese tidbits to say. The music, on the other hand, is pretty bad midi stuff, and (this is one of my chief complaints) there is no way to turn it off.

The game calls itself an 'Action-RPG', but has very few role-playing elements. Unlike King's Field or Castlevania, which truly mix the genres, Mystical Ninja allows only a couple of weapon upgrades and damage modifiers. The biggest RPG-like part of the game is having to 'talk' to everyone in town in order to advance the 'plot' or find out what to do next. Mystical Ninja is really just a 3D platform game with a baaaad plot.

Well, that's about it for Mystical Ninja. I can't really recommend it, although it will probably appeal more to young children than anyone else. I'd like to leave you with one last bit of wisdom, quoted directly from the game:

"Train yourself well until the girls cheer for you saying, 'Oh my, that pipe you have is so fashionable!' "

Revolution report card
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Mystical Ninja


More On GameRevolution