More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Napoleon: Total War Review

geoff_hunt By:
Geoff_Hunt
05/07/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RTS 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Creative Assembly 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Language, Mild Blood, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Not exactly dynamite.


Ah, Napoleon. Military leader extraordinaire, politician, a one-man revolution in educational systems and administration; love or hate the French, you have to respect Napoleon’s accomplishments. The little guy brought France to a position of prominence for the first half of the 19th century, so he must’ve been pretty clever and/or bad-ass. It’s nice to see him finally getting some real coverage in games.

click to enlargeGiven that the very first thing I did upon installing Empire: Total War was go through a game playing as the French (and winning, I might add), Napoleon feels like very-recently tread ground to me. Within 10 minutes I was doing pretty much what I did after 10 minutes of Empire – only with a slightly different UI and menu set. How odd. Did I enter a time machine? Was this a side effect of a rather delightful coma?

Sadly, no, nothing that interesting. Just sequel-itis. Just another Total War game.

Like every Total War game to date, Napoleon is one part turn-based empire game and one part RTS with fixed force sizes. Like every Total War game to date, the AI is dumb as a brick in the imperial side and precise as only a computer can be on the RTS side. Not creative or truly intelligent, mind – but it does manage its forces with impressive precision, making it very hard to exploit a moment of sloppy play.

It’s not that there aren’t differences in the details; there absolutely are. Turns represent half a month now, not half a year; the world map is smaller; individual soldiers in units are more visibly varied; but all of this doesn’t really change the game, it just changes the frippery. You’re doing the same bloody thing you did in Empire and Rome and Medieval and Shogun. This isn’t a bad thing. But this isn’t really a selling point, either.

click to enlargeThe largest observable differences are in the multiplayer area, where drop-in games have been implemented, though not exactly the way you’d expect or are used to in other games. It lets a human player jump in for a computer opponent, letting you set up a game and get going while you wait for a human to jump in. I tried this a few times – it’s disorienting for both sides, but most distinctly so for the player jumping in, where he has to try and figure out the side he’s been plopped with and the resources available pretty much on the fly. It can be difficult, especially if the CPU had been building towards a particular strength or strategy.

Folks, when I sit down to review a game, my general criterion can be summed up as follows: What qualities am I finding here that I haven’t seen before? Those are the things worth focusing on. If there aren’t any, then fall back on the question of quality: How does this compare to top-runners in the same genre?

Well… let’s see… Napoleon’s a cleaner presentation that Empire was, certainly. The engine’s clearly seen some optimization, and bugs have been fixed a-plenty, so there are fewer crashes, and the game is much friendlier to honest, working-men’s computers. Likewise, graphics have taken some dainty steps forward - no leaps or bounds ahead of Empire, but the extra variety and detail help to flesh out the game’s visual appeal considerably. Likewise, the soundtrack is quite good, if unfocused, as has been the general rule for Total War games.

click to enlargeThe problem Napoleon has is that it’s not just like Empire, it is and only is Empire. Better technical execution, improvement to the look and feel, but the game just is not different. It feels like an expansion at best, yet it’s being sold like it’s a brand new game. A little insulting, frankly, for those of us who picked up Empire just under a year ago. Some of the bugs in Empire have never even been fixed, while Napoleon apparently got all the love.

If you own Empire, there’s not a good reason to own Napoleon. If you don’t, hey, fair enough, Napoleon’s all the same classic Total War gameplay elements that has kept the series notable and strong all these years. Your decision to buy should really be based upon whether you own Empire or not; nothing else bears much impact here.
C Revolution report card
  • Conquering the world as the French. Vivez les puits d’odeur!
  • Just like Empire: Total War
  • New gameplay elements that really aren’t.
  • Not the most impressive AI.
  • Echo, echo, echo…
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Napoleon: Total War