More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Ultimate Ninja 4: Naruto Shippuden Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
04/13/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai Games America 
DEVELOPER Criware / CyberConnect2 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Cartoon Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

...Must learn ninja in-visibility.


In my time watching animé and playing all sorts of games, I've never understood Naruto. The thought of ninjas running around – showing themselves to the world – wearing brightly-colored outfits just isn't logical. But alas, such is the world of the whisker-branded warrior, and I'm just a passenger along for the ride.

click to enlargeAnd damn, is it bumpy.

Ultimate Ninja 4 is labeled as a fighting game, but unlike most, it has two modes akin to the those in the lesser-known Tobal No. 1: a strict one-on-one combat called “Free Battle” and an adventure challenge called “Master Mode”. The former is... well, you choose the character, your buddy (or you, if you're fighting the computer) chooses a character, and you beat the snot out of each other. The latter has you running around between towns and through forests and such, fighting enemies in various missions that improve your trained skills. And unfortunately, both of these modes are unimaginative.

What's odd to me, though, is that this is touted as a fighting game when the “main” game seems to be the adventure... because the control scheme is too basic for a standard fighting title. When you have two buttons for attacking and everything else is some variation of those two, it becomes less of a “fight” and more of a button mash.

click to enlargeEach character is well-animated, a definite plus, but the environments remind me too much of the those in .hack titles from early in the PS2's lifespan. This has me scratching my head: Why would Namco, with the resources they must have, rip environment tech from seven years ago? With all the advancements in graphics, why go back to a game designed to look like an MMO (meaning decreased hardware requirements to run on more machines) from the earliest attempts on the system?

And the battles... you'd think it doesn't take too many buttons to make a decent tactical fighting match. Hell, anyone who's seen a hardcore Super Smash Brothers war knows just how much can go into a limited button layout. But this particular scheme, as tactical as it gets, is just pressing buttons during an “Ultimate Jutsu” to break up the damage capability. And using basic “slides” (literally, single-cell animé shots) to interrupt the action and throw the players into the “Ultimate Jutsu” attacks is just that: interrupting.

And, in said adventure, whenever a battle did come up, all that had to be done was press the attack button. So instead of suffering all day pressing a button, I used the opportunity to find out the true range of my wireless controller. All I had to do was have my nephew watch the screen as I walked from the living room into my room to find a book to read (not Naruto, but Rurouni Kenshin) while in battle, then have him tell me when the signal cut out. In other words, this game isn't worth paying attention to.

click to enlargeUnlockable characters, figures a-la Super Smash Brothers, and even character voices are available in the Shop area of the main menu, but the whole system is broken. In the adventure, all you have to do is break boxes to get money. You don't even have to fight anything to earn it; all ya gotta do is remember to walk up to a box or a pot and punch it (you can even just press the circle button repeatedly, as it automatically moves you forward and locks on to anything in your path), and you will earn a substantial number of coins. Walk out of that area, then back in, and voila! Free cash! It's like walking down the sidewalk, picking up a penny, then walking in and out of a shop to find a twenty-dollar bill at your feet.

Couple all of these flaws together with some of the worst voice-acting I've ever heard in my life (and that's including my love for the horrible-ness that is Sewer Shark on the Sega CD), and you've got yourself what everyone in the gaming realm fears: a “true” animé/movie/commercial/fast-food tie-in game. But to be perfectly honest, I even enjoyed some of those. Especially the one with the Burger King creeping people out by surprising them with cheeseburgers and breakfast sandwiches. At least they felt like the developers were trying to do something... memorable... and possibly worth playing.
D Revolution report card
  • Nicely shaded character models
  • Bland, repetitive, and outdated environments
  • Voice-acting is atrocious
  • Fighting is basic and uninteresting
  • No actual animation? Really? Why not?!
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Ultimate Ninja 4: Naruto Shippuden
Also known as: Shonen Jump's Naruto Shippuden Ultimate Ninja 4, Ulttimate Ninja 4 Naruto Shippuden