More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Nascar99 Review

Jason_Zimring By:
Jason_Zimring
10/01/98
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER EA Sports 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

What? Another Left Turn?

Yeeeeeehaaaaa! Time to mount that gun rack to the back of your pickup and head on down to the track for another season of video NASCAR racing. So all you racing fans who can't wait to burn rubber and make countless left turns get ready to strap on your helmet and jump into the drivers seat!

Well, there it was. I attempted to make EA's NASCAR '99 as exciting as possible so you would read this far, but now the charade must come to end. Maybe I just don't appreciate the sport of stock car racing as much as I should, because in my opinion this occasionally boring sport translates into a consistently boring video game.

As you may already know, 99% of stock car races involve only left turns on short tracks (laps usually take anywhere from 15 to 60 seconds). NASCAR '99 does feature 17 authentic tracks (somehow leaving out Daytona!?!), and even lets you race some tracks under the flood lights at night. But unless you're a hard core racing fan, all the tracks end up looking pretty much the same.

The game also features 37 different NASCAR drivers and cars, complete with detailed bios and sponsors. There's even six hidden NASCAR legends, such as Richard Petty, that you can unlock by winning certain races. Unfortunately, you need to enter these races at a minimum of 50% actual length. This means you'll be racing about 100-160 laps, as opposed to the 6-12 lap races you're accustomed to on video games. Yeah right - like I'm gonna spend 2 hours making 500 left turns just to unlock a new driver.

Lets move on to graphics. The individual car graphics are excellent - very detailed and realistic. You can see pieces of your car flying off when you crash into walls, or, in my case, watch pieces of your opponents' cars flying off after you ram them. Also, there are a variety of cool views to choose from, so you can find one that fits your style best. The rest of the game's graphics, however, leave much to be desired. The grass along the raceways looks like concrete painted green, and the pits and grandstands aren't much better. It feels like you're racing a Playstation car in an Atari 2600 setting.

The feel of the car as you drive seems very realistic. Although I haven't yet mastered that all important left turn, I can tell there is a definite right way to handle your NASCAR racer. The adjustments you can make before and during the race (i.e. tire pressure, gear ratio, etc.) make a noticeable impact on the way your car drives. Plus, the instruction booklet actually tells you exactly what each adjustment means. Kudos to EA for that one!

The pit crew options in NASCAR '99 show both strengths and weaknesses. On the plus side, your pit crew talks to you while you're on the track, letting you know where other cars are in relation to you (which almost makes up for the lack of a rear view mirror) and when you should come into the pits. Actually going to the pits, however, is rather unexciting. You just choose what you want fixed and they do it. I remember in Days of Thunder, a game for the SNES, you actually had to control your pit crew manually so you could work on decreasing your time in the pits. That's something EA might want to think about for next year...

In addition to hearing your pit crew during the race, you also hear the television announcers. As in most other video games, these guys get boring and repetitive after about 20 minutes. And for some reason they keep telling you about the safety features of your car. Hey, come on guys, I'm playing a video game here. What do I care about safety for? I've got a reset button!

Another feature that could have been cool but just didn't pan out is drafting. In racing, drafting is a strategy wherein you tailgate your opponent in order to cut down on your own wind resistance. The game makes this technique entirely too easy, and it always seems to work a little too well.

A couple more good points about the game before I finish up...You can run through a championship season, and EA stays true to form by making the points rankings identical to NASCAR's real life system. Also, the two-player split screen mode is pretty fun, because it usually turns into a 'bumper car' battle between you and your friend. Other than that though, I just don't feel this game has much to offer.

C Revolution report card
  • Good car graphics
  • Realistic feel
  • All other graphics lacking
  • Game gets repetitive and boring
  • So many left turns!
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Nascar99


More On GameRevolution