More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

NES Remix 2 Review

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
04/23/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Mixed up a notch.

The first NES Remix was a mixed bag. On one hand, reliving the classics in bold new ways was familiar yet refreshing, but on the other hand, it fell short of delivering the full dose of nostalgia Nintendo is capable of giving its arsenal of favorites and franchises.

Specifically, in my review of the original NES Remix I had offered Metroid, Punch Out!!, and Zelda II: The Adventure of Link as examples that were glaringly omitted. So imagine the satisfaction I feel as a reviewer and a consumer to see the things I asked for delivered to me in a more cohesive package. NES Remix 2 feels much more complete than its predecessor, but the first game's existence does detract from the sequel’s satiety—​the reason being that none of the games from the first NES Remix appear in NES Remix 2, so Nintendo weakened this second dose by eliminating a few favorites from being featured alongside those I've already mentioned.



However, the standalone lineup in NES Remix 2 is indeed better than the first offering. Along with three aforementioned titles, you will be able to relive the following classics: Dr. Mario, Ice Hockey, Kid Icarus, Kirby's Adventure, NES Open Tournament Golf, Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels, Super Mario Bros. 2, Super Mario Bros. 3, and Wario's Woods.

All of these titles are broken into quick but incredibly fun and challenging mini-games that last, in most cases, no longer than a minute. Remixed versions of these classics are also included, providing mashups of two games or doing something strange like turning off the lights in the background. Some of these challenges can be completed in just a few seconds, while others are separated into four or more sets of mini-games that you must make your way through successfully within three tries. Doing so potentially earns you up to a three-star score. (How many stars will NES Remix 2 earn, though?)

Challenges range from simple to extremely daunting and controller-smashing. It very much depends on the game, too—these Nintendo classics definitely retain their trademark difficulty levels despite being reworked and presented in such unique ways. Kid Icarus, which was one of the few games I just couldn’t beat in my NES days, is just as frustrating. As is The Adventure of Link and Super Mario Bros. 2. Super Mario Bros. 3, however, is a lot more forgiving while something like Punch Out!! is a breeze to get through and is more there for fan-fare as a throwback. Dr. Mario, Wario’s Woods, and Ice Hockey provide some much needed variation in the gameplay, as the rest are platformers. Metroid is just plain awesome.



More attention was given to that special nostalgic feeling you get while playing a classic game. In one particular remix stage, the memorable World 1-1 from Super Mario Bros. was re-imagined block for block all the way down to enemy placement, but using sprites and graphics from Super Mario Bros. 3, which proves a very nice touch. Again, these are mostly ideas that our young minds probably dreamt long ago—the developers are clearly young at heart—while others are situations that would never, ever happen… like getting knocked down by Glass Joe in Punch Out!! You’d have to seriously suck for that to ever occur.

Whichever of the twelve games you play, NES Remix 2 presents the content in a manner that's easier to digest and also enjoyable and challenging. Rounding out the package is a Championship Mode that features challenges from the über-rare Nintendo World Championship that sells for tens of thousands of dollars on eBay and a Super Luigi Bros. remix which is little more than a mirrored version of Super Mario Bros. featuring the plumber whose year just past. These are a lot of fun to toy around with, but add little to the overall value of the experience. Even getting the chance to play Nintendo World Championship is cool, but what’s even cooler to NES fans is owning that Gold cartridge as a collectible, not playing it.

After NES Remix, I knew I wanted more. NES Remix 2 is definitely a step in the right direction, but due to featuring fewer games than the first Remix (which had 16 as opposed to the sequel's 12) and not including the best from the first, there’s still an air of incompleteness about it. The games that exist, though, are more significant so it is a fair trade-off. It’s well worth the $15 asking price and I’d even pay a full $60 for a disc-based version of NES Remix, NES Remix 2, and the inevitable NES Remix 3 if all the games were included together cohesively. Hell, I’d be happy to see this franchise turn into a quarterly release and go through hundreds of NES classics and I don’t think it’d get old to me. I'm enjoying them that much.

Since I had such luck getting what I asked for out of my last review, I’ll close with this: Nintendo should work with third-party publishers for NES Remix 3 so that we can mix in some Castlevania and Mega Man action and they need to hurry up with a SNES Remix. Shut up and take my money, Nintendo!
 
Code provided by publisher. Exclusive to Wii U.
NES Remix 2
fullfullfullfullempty
  • Much better games this time around
  • Sadly, there are no repeats so the gems of the last game can’t play nice with new ones
  • Challenges are just as fun and difficult, yet more thoughtful
  • Who doesn't love Metroid and Punch Out!!
  • So I wish there were more of each included
  • Good variety across games and remixes
  • Additional modes are nice, but offer little value
  • Nintendo is listening to feedback
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   Nintendo, Wii U
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about NES Remix 2