More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

NFL Gameday 2002 Review

Joe_Dodson By:
Joe_Dodson
01/01/02
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER 989 Sports 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Another 3 and Out.

Yesterday I went into a pet store to buy a puppy for my boa constrictor, Max. There were three puppies to choose from, and they were clearly brothers. One was big and hearty, another was small and cute, and the last was fat and dumpy. And it bit me. Unfortunately, there had to be a loser and it was up to me to decide which one would be missed least by the puppy-buying populace.

But today, I am the snake and a fresh litter of Playstation 2 NFL games sits helplessly before me. Madden would be the big, hearty one, NFL 2K2 would be the cute one, and without a doubt, NFL GameDay 2002 would be snake food.

989 Sports' newest edition to the GameDay franchise is definitely the worst football game on the PS2 this season. That's pretty sad considering last season's NFL Gameday 2001 also earned the "worst of" award. With more problems than the Carolina Panthers, it's easy to see that 989's ball is definitely not bouncing in the right direction.

The first fumble comes from long loading times. Before you even reach a game, you'll be treated to two extra-long loads, one of which precedes a fittingly drawn out intro. GameDay's loading times are easily the longest of the PS2 football games.

Then there's the lack of any sort of Practice mode. It hasn't even been replaced by anything cooler - it's just gone. Whereas Madden has taken its Practice mode to new heights, GameDay has cut practice completely. Such an omission robs the player of the chance to get used to the game and develop basic offensive and defensive confidence before starting a Season or Franchise. It's just like starting the season without training camp.

The rest of the features are exactly what you'd expect from any other football game. I suppose there's still room in the General Manager mode (known as Franchise or Dynasty mode in other games) for greater detail and realism, but there's already more than enough meat to mull for all but the greatest of football pedants.

Unfortunately, there's no use eating the meat when it has already gone bad, since GameDay has the weakest gameplay of the 2002 games. The running game is abysmal. Not only do you not get the holes you'd expect, but juking tackles in the open field is unrealistically hard. While the defenders seem to have the proportional speed and strength of spiders, your poor running back suffers from some sort of awful gravity affliction, which reduces all his cut-backs to painful stutters and potentially huge gains to depressing losses.

The passing game, on the other hand, is too easy. Not only are certain plays like quick outs and slants extraordinarily reliable, but they don't seem to open up the defense to draw plays (fake a pass and hand the ball off to your half back). This puts a crimp in basic football strategy and cuts an important dimension out of what is already the least dynamic football game of the season. You better like monitoring stats, because that's about as much fun as it gets.

The defensive side of the ball is just as gloomy. Unlike you, the computer can run right through defenders. Making things even worse is the fact that defending passes is just about impossible. When you change players, the new player you take control of does nothing on his own. This leads to odd schisms in activity and usually gives tight ends and wide receivers that extra-needed step against your defender. Touchdown!

Graphically, GameDay is second rate. The fields, textures, players, faces and animations are all uglier than those found in Madden 2002 and NFL 2K2. Some of the tackle animations are cool (like the two and three person tackles), but the overall look of GameDay is fuzzy and plain. This game has been beaten with the ugly stick one too many times.

The sounds are below average, with Dick Enberg and Dan Fouts giving the sloppiest commentary since football games were made for the PSX. Not only is the integration of the commentary more jagged than what you'd find in most sports games, but 989 Sports went with Dan Fouts, who actually sounds awkward and pointless on television.

Overall, NFL Gameday 2002 is a sub-par football game that has no hope of escaping the shadows cast by its fantastic competitors. Rumor has it that GameDay 2002 is superior to GameDay 2001, but that's sort of like saying a bop on the head is better than a punch in the nose. I wouldn't pay for either of them.

D Revolution report card
  • Multi-tackles
  • Blurry visuals
  • Lame running game
  • No practice mode
  • Bad player transitions
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about NFL Gameday 2002


More On GameRevolution