More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

NHL 2000 Review

By:
George_Leong
10/01/99
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER EA Sports 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
E Contains Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Only the physical will survive.

The NHL series by EA Sports is undoubtedly the most successful hockey video game franchise in the business. I remember back in the day (4 years ago) when a couple of friends and I would gather after school to play NHL '94. We would each pick four teams, create a tournament bracket, and battle each other for Lord Stanley's cup. Who won the most? I did, of course! I wouldn't have brought it up if I didn't! My SNES controllers did take a beating, but the bragging rights and some scotch tape made up for it. Ahh yes, what fond memories...

It's been another year, so time for another NHL game. In NHL 2000, you get the usual game modes: Exhibition, Season, Playoff, Tournament, and Shootout. For most gamers, the most interesting mode is Season mode. After each season, players will move around via free agency, aging players will retire, and you can even draft rookies. There are even roster updates you can get from the GR patches section. Props to EA for including this feature.

With the EA Sports online gaming system, it makes it easy for players to find opponents over the Internet. While it's not as cool as sitting beside your buddy on the couch while you crush his team into the ice, you were really only able to do that with the console versions anyway (Who has two controllers for their PC?). Internet multiplayer definitely helps any computer sports game.

The sound and graphics are just spectacular. EA went all out and licensed music like Garbage's "Push it", Uberzone's "Dokta Dokta", and Gearwhore's "Accelerator." You can feel every body check and shot, and the arena noise puts you right there in the game. The graphics are incredible, too. Every NHL player looks almost exactly like his real-life counterpart, and the player and goalie animations are awesome.

Another cool addition is the 'face in the game' feature. Most sports sims have the 'create a player' option that lets you choose a generic face for your player. This is still included, of course. But NHL 2000 takes things a step further by letting you literally put your face in the game! All you need is a picture of your mug (not too hard if you have a scanner), and you can play with your favorite hockey stars! Darn, if only I had a scanner, I'd open up a can of whup-ass on that girlie-man Jagr.

Now on to the gameplay. Basically, the core gameplay hasn't changed since NHL 94, though each year it undergoes minor tweaks. EA said there were more ways to score in NHL 2000 than in previous versions, and they weren't kidding. In the first game after installation (I set it at the hardest difficulty setting), I notched 13 goals . . . and I was playing 10 minute periods! Maybe (probably) I'm just gifted, but I expected to lose a few games before I even came close to winning. One problem is the defenders on the opposing team allowing you to skate right by them, avoiding you as if you had the black plague. Not the best AI in the world.

Besides the amount of scoring, another unrealistic part of NHL 2000 is the unreasonably high number of shots the computer takes. In each game, the computer constantly outshoots you, and it's usually by about a 2 to 1 ratio. The computer would take shots, and my goalie would always make the save. I'd take the pass from my goalie and race down the ice, go right past the defenders, and score. It's unrealistic and may disappoint gamers who like the simulation aspect of the game, but for arcade-minded players, it's fun.

Besides the gameplay flaws, NHL 2000 is an extremely fun game to play. The non-stop action and punishing body checks, which, I might add, are just as fun as scoring goals, make this game hard to stop playing. This game almost makes me forget about NHL '94 . . . almost. If you have last year's version, or even the one two years ago, the only thing that's really changed is the players. It's still a solid hockey game, and the best one on the market.

B Revolution report card
  • Put your face in the game!
  • Career Mode
  • Punishing body checks
  • Weak computer AI
  • Unrealistic shot totals
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about NHL 2000


More On GameRevolution