More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

NHL Faceoff Review

By:

06/04/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER Sony Sports 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

" Ughhhhh!!!!...,"

...what you really feel like screaming when of those 250 lb. defensemen on this game comes out of nowhere and steamroll you into a wall while his friends race up to play Silly-Putty with your remains. With NHL Faceoff, Sony Sports has done it again, following the huge success of last year's NFL Gameday with an amazing first generation hockey game. They seem to be setting an early precedent, much the way EA Sports did in the early 90's on the Genesis. This game is a perfect blend of the two hockey juggernauts, EA Sport's NHL '96 and Sega's NHL All-Star Hockey, filling in the little blanks that the previous two has missed. Beyond this, NHL Faceoff is it's own game as well.

To start, the mechanics in Faceoff are really impresssive in that almost everything about the game resembles the real thing, from the fluid player movement, to the player him (maybe one day her...) self as well. The on-the-fly camera angles were a graet effect, and a feature that will probably become a standard for games to come. Another really impressive thing about this is the strategy needed for shooting, with shots ranging from tricky one-timers to wicked slapshots. The control granted to the player on the shot is amazing. Goals are no longer just 90% luck (maybe only 30%. . .), but carefully planned and executed (hopefully) to perfection. Beware though, the weird difficulty settings can make this control backfire on you. On easy, the game regresses into NHL '95, where first-time rookie players (including my 8-year old brother) score 10,11,and 12 before the other team takes that many shots. On hard, there is more challenge, but not for any drastic change in computer A.I.. I usually could score 2 or 3 goals consistently, but on about 70 or 80 shots a game, always giving you that bad feeling that the only way you scored is because there is a possible glitch in the game. Medium difficulty gives a decent challenge, and is the most fun, but eventually gets mastered, leaving you in a state of limbo...

The graphics are good, if a little fuzzy, but the realistic player movement more than make up for this (readable player jersey numbers would've been nice -- this is 32-bit, you know). The music and sound FX are also pretty good for the most part, though those spine-tingling checks don't pack the same crunch as in, uhh...well, NHL '96, but the slapshots and wristers do.

The features of the game are good and bad in their own special way, but since this is a first generation hockey game, I'll give it a little more slack than I will its second and third-generation counterparts. I was really impressed with the create-a-player option in a first-generation piece of software, and all the new teams, locations, players, and 95-96 stats (which were really in-depth). The most disappointing thing about this game was the fact that you couldn't save anything. You could get 'up-to-the-minute' game stats, but no player stats, not even after the game. I overlooked this flaw in my grading this time, but it hurts me that Sony Sports has made this fatal error again (NBA Shootout comes to mind as another that left player stats out). No other dramatic features other than trading are included here.

Along with the lack of player stats, I was annoyed by the fact that, if not saved for a season, a created player can only last one game before being taken off the game. After messing up the stat thing, Sony should have at least gone to the trouble of fixing this. But, oh well, there's always next year and ... (I know it's getting old) NHL '96. Speaking of next year, I hear Virgin's got something special with NHL Powerplay '96. Wink, wink.

All in all, Faceoff is an excellent addition to the Sony Sports lineup, but now I will repeat the advice that I gave for Gameday -- if you need a hockey game NOW, it's here, but if you're like the rest of us and can only afford 3-5 games a year, you should wait for Powerplay '96. Buying Faceoff is a little like watching the zamboni ride the ice before overtime.

Improvements for next year:

    Features
  • 5 minute majors and 4 minute double minor penalties
  • player stats in all categories
  • saveable player stats in all categories
  • drafting, editing, overall increased management options
  • variable season lengths
    Gameplay:
  • different check buttons
  • an adjusted computer A.I.


Coming soon:

  • NHL Powerplay '96 (PSX)
  • NHL '97 (Saturn/PSX)
  • NHL Faceoff '97 (PSX)
  • Wayne Gretsky Hockey (Nintendo 64)
  • NHL All-Star Hockey '97 (Saturn)

Also try:

  • NHL Powerplay '96 (Saturn/PC)
  • NHL '96 (PC)
  • NHL All-Star Hockey (Saturn)
  • NHL '96 (Genesis/Super NES)
  • Wayne Gretsky Hockey (Genesis/Super NES)
B+ Revolution report card
  • Excellent graphics, camera angles
  • Decent control
  • Doesn't have or save any kind of player stats
  • Look out for NHL Powerplay '96!
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about NHL Faceoff