More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Nintendo 3DS XL Review

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
08/21/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Handheld 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE  

The 3DS eats a mushroom. Perhaps two.


I can't help but feel that the Nintendo 3DS XL was created for gamers like me. It's certainly not a free upgrade to Nintendo fans who have owned a 3DS since launch day, with some reluctantly convincing themselves to trade in their 3DS for (an unsatisfactory pittance at a retail store for) the 3DS XL. At any rate, it's about time this game critic made the jump from the regular DS world to the 3DS world, and now's as good a time as any.

As the name implies, the 3DS XL's main selling point is the enlargement of the standard-sized screens for the regular 3DS, by 90% in fact, with a 4.88" top screen that comfortably rivals the Vita's 5" screen. The resolution, however, remains within the same ballpark and still creates moments where a user might notice the faint jagginess of the graphics.


The 3DS XL by and large has a similar design to the 3DS with minor differences. The shell is no longer covered in plastic, instead coated with a blue or red matte texture that should prevent most fingerprints from appearing. The three buttons for Select, Home, and Start have been given separate tiles for a better feel, the non-telescoping stylus falls back to the right side, and the headphone jack has been scooted slightly over to the left away from the center.

Despite being thinner than the 3DS, the 3DS XL weighs approximately four ounces heavier for a more solid core and feel. The 3DS battery life has been extended from its original 3-5 hours to around an average of 5.5 hours (up to around 7 hours) on a full charge. The entire pacakge comes with the unit, a pre-loaded 4GB SD card, a large instruction manual, a pack of AR cards, and an AC charger (an extra one for those who don't already have a charger for the DSi XL or 3DS). There's no dock this time around, but that's negligible.

The 3DS XL's touted ability to view the top screen in 3D without glasses is about the same as the original 3DS's—sometimes hard to find at the start and somewhat easy to fall out of. It's still difficult for me, a guy with glasses, to see it properly unless I'm dead-on center with the top screen (either that or take off my glasses, which defeats the purpose). That said, I'm perfectly comfortable sliding the 3D effect off.



The glaring disappointment, however, is the mind-boggling lack of a right circle pad which Nintendo had plenty of time to design into this 3DS iteration. If they wanted to make me recall the obnoxious left circle stick with the PSP, they've done a remarkable job. Imagining the would-be 3DS XL Circle Pad Pro attachment is laughable; in fact, if the accessory ever comes out, I won't be purchasing it out of principle. Spite for spite.

Transferring content from the original 3DS to the 3DS XL, allowable once a week and only up to five times, can be done within about a half an hour. Any downloadable titles will need to be re-downloaded.

With a much broader screen size and a more ergonomic design, the 3DS XL can only be faulted for the lack of the right circle pad and still slightly iffy 3D effect. Though the number of must-have titles is still on the low side on the 3DS systems and the lineup is fairly bare this holiday season, the $199.99 price point is still affordable and there are just enough titles to warrant a purchase of a 3DS system. It might as well be a 3DS XL.

Console not provided by publisher.
Nintendo 3DS XL
fullfullfullfullempty
  • 90% larger screens
  • Better shell, matte finish
  • Stronger battery life
  • Why you no have right circle pad?!
  • Glasses-free 3D effect
  • ...that's still a little sensitive, though
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   3DS, Nintendo
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Nintendo 3DS XL


More On GameRevolution