More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Offroad Redneck Racing Review

Shawn_Sparks By:
Shawn_Sparks
06/01/01
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Interplay 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
E Contains Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

Alright, whoever is stealin' the spitoon has got to stop!

If games were like pets, then Offroad Redneck Racing would be the lazy bloodhound of a 120-pound alcoholic named Cletus who missed the last twenty years of oral hygiene. It's redneck, it's racing and it's officially endorsed by Leonard and Bubba (I have no clue why)!

Simply put, ORR feels like a racing game that falls a few beers short of a six pack. The foundation is solid with nice textures, smooth framerates and a basic formula for progressive gameplay, but its technical shortcomings will drive you absolutely insane. Still, the final product turns out to be pretty average.

As far as racers go, ORR has the same basic elements that we've all seen before: Race in league competition, win to earn upgrades, lather, rinse, repeat. There's also a LAN mode that lets you race up to five of your closest kin.

The control is simple enough and any of the good ol' boys will be able to pick up and play. Steering control isn't as loose as the average arcade racer, but on the other had it's not quite as refined as a racing sim. I imagine that's what driving the General Lee was like.

Along the way, you'll live and breathe every bump and jump in the road. ORR features some awesome force feedback support to go along with physics that just might make you spill your beer. All you need now is a cousin named Roscoe sitting shotgun beside you.

The game's audio has its ups and downs with good music to combat the annoying voices. With the music perfomed by the cast of Deliverance, the totally redneck jug band has your foot-a-tappin' and your head-a-boppin with the perfect country tunes. At first, the comments from your character and the other drivers are a crack up, but with only a few things to say, it gets real thin real fast.

Visually, the textures and shadows are nice, but the game only runs well at 800 X 600 with 16 bit color. What the heck is that? In this day and age, with FSAA and DDRAM, something as simple as a racer should run smoothly at 1024 X 768 32 bit with no problems at all. I just can't understand the resource strain from a racer. It may be a 3D environment, but what is it drawing that takes so much out of my machine (PIII 650/256 RAM/GeForce2 Pro)? That's crummier than bad moonshine and stale corn fritters. At least 800 X 600 looks okay, but I just feel that with modern technology, gamers should be able to use the resources that they have. Maybe they'll put out a patch...

Adding to the draw of the game is the changing environmental conditions. I guess the hicks like to show off their studded ice tires and their bright KC lights as much as the rest of us, so ORR offers us virtual hicks the same bragging rights by throwing ice, snow, mud at us while holding races both day and night. "Yeee-Haaw! Lookie here at these new super swamps and mud flaps I got at the swap meet, only cost me two pigs, a chicken and a sixer of Lucky Lager."

Aside from the obvious novelty of the whole redneck theme, Offroad Redneck Racing is just an average racer with good sound and decent graphics. Too bad there are issues with the higher resolutions, but that's more of an annoyance than a huge problem. All you virtual redneck wannabes might want to run out and buy this game, but all others should probably just walk. There may be better, then again there are definitely worse racers out there. Redneck Racer finshes in the middle of the pack.

C+ Revolution report card
  • REDNECKS!
  • Good Sound Quality
  • Force Feedback
  • 600 X 800
  • Nothing Special
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Offroad Redneck Racing