More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds Review

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
03/08/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Mages 
DEVELOPER Release Universal Network 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ What do these ratings mean?

You've probably played this before...

Are you familiar with 2D side-scrolling beat-'em-ups? If you've played even five minutes of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles or The Simpsons in the arcade, then your answer to that question should be a resounding "yes", but usually after a very short time with a game in this genre, you've seen virtually everything there is to see. Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds is no different, featuring a traditional side-scrolling, button-mashing experience that may be endearing for the first few minutes, but once the redundancy sets in and the nostalgia slips away all too quickly, you're left with an experience that feels like it was made twenty years ago.

Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds is an action-based spin-off to the Japanese fighting game Phantom Breaker. Both games feature a suite of cutesy anime girls who wield colorful weapons and possess magical abilities. Sadly, Battle Grounds is a massive step down in quality when compared to its fighting-centric counterpart. The menus are bland and downright juvenile, the character models and backgrounds are overly pixelated, and the sound design leaves much to be desired.



And then there's the story. How do I put this? It's quite possibly the weirdest, most convoluted premise I have ever seen in a video game. Thankfully, story doesn't play a major role in these types of titles anyway, and the bulk of that content is dished out through a massive wall of scrolling text while it is read to you in Japanese. If anything, it's clear that very little time and effort was spent in localizing this game for the Western audience. 

Fortunately, the gameplay isn't a total bust. Battle Grounds features a number of different modes, though the differences between the arcade, story, and cooperative options are extremely minimal. The levels are the same across the various modes, but how you approach them is slightly different.

I enjoy some quality couch co-op action from time to time, so I sat down with my brother and we played through several of the game's levels together. After a half-hour or so, we already got sick of the experience. The controls just didn't feel tight or responsive enough to provide any real level of satisfaction. Heavy, mid, and light attacks are mapped to the face buttons and the triggers allow you to unleash more powerful "magic" attacks when your meter at the top of the screen is full. It's hardly original, but functional at the very least.



You can plough through the game with up to four players locally or connect with other gamers over Xbox Live. I had trouble finding a match over Live (go figure), but playing co-op was easy enough, though I wish there was a way for additional players to jump in mid-game with the press of a button. Not only that, but if my brother wanted to level up his character, I needed to give him my controller sine only player one can alter stats. Little missteps like this really hurt the overall experience.

I do have to applaud the game for at least trying to layer in a level of customizability. Players can select from a handful of different characters, each with their own unique weapons. As you progress through the game, the character you select will level up, allowing you to improve their attack, speed, and defense. In addition, there's a talent tree of sorts that allows you to unlock new moves. While this might sound cool on paper, having to grind your way through the game just to get a varied move set is a bit frustrating.



There's also a battle mode that plays basically like any 2D fighter, except the unenjoyable controls from the rest of the game are here as well. You can have four-way brawls, which at the very least may serve as a fun distraction should you and your buddies be looking for a good laugh and a way to kill a few minutes. That said, if you're looking for a compelling fighter, this certainly is not it.

I have a hard time recommending Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds to anyone. If you're obsessed with 2D brawlers and love Japanese animé, I strongly recommend you give the demo a try before shelling out any cash. The redundant and dated gameplay, coupled with weak production values, make this a forgettable experience that won't keep you entertained for very long.

Copy provided by publisher. Xbox Live Arcade exclusive.
Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds
fullfullemptyemptyempty
  • Character customization and leveling system
  • Local co-op supports up to four players
  • Loading... Loading... Loading...
  • Bright color palette...
  • ...smattered atop underwhelming dated visuals
  • Super repetitive
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   XBLA, Xbox 360
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds
Also known as: phantom breaker battlegrounds