More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Phoenix Wright - Trials & Tribulations Review

Greg_Damiano By:
Greg_Damiano
11/09/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

Will the Defense Please Give It A Rest


I would call myself an Ace Attorney, except I must be the dumbest guy in the world. Take my latest case, for example, where I had to do a little detective work:

click to enlargeThe investigation arches around a mysterious paint spill. I go to the basement, the crime scene, and I find bright pink paint on the wall. Hey, wait a second! There’s pink paint splattered all over a piece of evidence I’ve collected. I also see the L-shaped box that stored my evidence has been thrown on the floor. The box is covered with pink paint. The paint spill on the wall ends in an L-shape. The case is solved.

But I can’t do a thing about it. These clues sit in plain view for HOURS before I’m finally allowed to accept them as evidence. A whole trial has come and gone by then. This is clearly an obstruction of justice. Can we hold the writer in contempt?

Trials and Tribulations is the last in a trilogy of “visual novels” starring our dapper but pointy-haired legal eagle. I really don’t have anything to add since Joe Dodson reviewed Phoenix Wright: Justice For All. Because there are NO NEW FEATURES to work with! But since I’m filing my report anyway, I’ll say that I like the promise of courtroom drama on my DS, but I object to Wright’s clunky and punishing “gameplay” - and you may too.

click to enlargeTrials takes a stroll through the life and career of our dear Phoenix Wright. You’ll see Phoenix’s mentor Mia Fey at the defense’s table, and you’ll reunite with old friends like Maya and Detective Gumshoe. I actually like these characters, so I was glad to have them back even if they’re heavily recycled. Capcom’s translators have brought us five more episodes of ridiculous characters and nonsensical rhetoric, and you’ll either get into the light-hearted approach or you won’t.

Trials does a fine job of reintroducing you to established characters and gameplay elements like Psyche Lock. The tired old “gameplay”, however, is the same exact punishment as predecessor Justice for All. You’ll read a hundred text boxes until you get to Phoenix’s cross examination, and if you screw up, you’ll have to crawl through those hundred boxes all over again. You’ll see the obvious arguments but can’t act upon your intuitions until you match some weird random clue to some frustratingly vague sentence.

It is equally unimpressive that Trials and Tribulations adds no new features and only a meager few characters to the Phoenix world. The menus are still as clunky as hell, and the whole touch screen is still lazily filled by a single giant Scroll Text button. I miss how the first Wright title had some DS-specific elements with the touch screen and microphone, but Capcom is saving that fancy alternative fun for the next installment.

But would I even want to see a fourth game? Phoenix Wright is not a game; it’s a book with an element of user-failure. Trials and Tribulations has been just that - a barely engaging read that keeps stumbling over its own unclear mysteries. There are no rewards here beyond the story, and even then Phoenix is a boring, go-nowhere guy.

click to enlargeSeriously, is he making good money or building a world-class rep for his work? Will he take on bigger clients or high-profile cases? He takes one case, goes on a whole-year hiatus… he must be doing great! He meets knockout ladies everywhere he goes. Can’t he at least get a phone number? Your Honor, please give me a reason to succeed beyond guilt and disappointment.

Ultimately, what could we expect? If you’re a fan of Mr. Wright, you’ll likely enjoy this additional chapter in the Turnabout adventures. The weak smiles and moments of victory, however, are poor motivations to solve Phoenix Wright.
C- Revolution report card
  • Revisiting old friends
  • Same old clever art and humor
  • Same old gameplay and interface
  • Rereading anything, ever
  • Nonexistent DS functionality
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Phoenix Wright - Trials & Tribulations