More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Powerplus: Extra Battery Life for 3DS Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
12/09/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Hardware 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Hyperkin 
DEVELOPER Hyperkin 
RELEASE DATE  

On the report card of life, running out of battery power is a big minus.


That's why the battery life of the 3DS is on the shitlist of nearly every gamer out there. What happens when you're on a 15-hour flight to Japan and you run out of battery power 6 hours in?

That's how people wind up going insane, you know. Luckily, Hyperkin is here to double your 3D gaming time in one convenient, easy-to-use package! Do I sound too sales-pitchy? If I do, it's because I'm genuinely satisfied by this product. When first-party hardware manufacturers screw up in their development, third-party manufacturers spread the red-sea and lead us from the land of no more batteries.


The Hyperkin 3DS Battery Extender packs an additional average of 6 hours play-time to the current 3DS model and does it conveniently in a nice, fitted form factor. That average battery life extension does flinch in the face of full-blast 3D usage, but conservative, 2D-on-the-go gaming gets a very nice boost from Hyperkin's battery pack.

The pack itself is black and slides nearly onto the back of the 3DS. Some existing packs require you to unscrew the back of the 3DS and outright replace it, but Hyperkin's snaps on and snaps off in a cinch. The top-right corner of the pack makes contact with the typical charging points used by the 3DS dock.


While this makes it really easy to remove the pack for storage or for charging, it does allow for some movement in the middle of gameplay. That can be frustrating when you're inches from the finish line in Mario Kart 7 or a perfect finish in Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition.

Regardless, Hyperkin's battery pack provides a decent grip and an excellent battery life extension. If you've got big hands like me, you might even find the 3DS easier to handle when you've got the battery pack attached. The connection point sticks out like a sore thumb, but the Powerplus Battery pack functions like a charm and is more than worth the $20 asking price.

Unit provided by publisher.
A- Revolution report card
  • More than doubles 3DS battery life
  • Form and function
  • Easy on and easy off
  • Might slide around when playing
  • Improves big-handed grip on 3DS
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Powerplus: Extra Battery Life for 3DS
Also known as: hyperkin,3ds,battery,pack