More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Raskulls Review

Eduardo_Reboucas By:
Eduardo_Reboucas
01/04/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing / Platform 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER XBLA 
DEVELOPER Halfbrick 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Crude Humor, Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The king demands it!


The kingdom of Raskulls is in great peril. Who are the Raskulls, you ask? They're skulls in little gnome bodies. The king is bored and wants a change of scenery, so he tasks his subjects with acquiring magical stones. What do the stones do? I wouldn't know. Yep, there's not much of a story here, but even so, Raskulls manages to be hilarious.

click to enlargeRaskulls takes a presentation cue from the Paper Mario games. Everything looks flat and characters have thick, black outlined edges and the colors are incredibly saturated. Let's get this out of the way early: Raskulls gave me a glimpse of how good a Paper Mario game would look in HD. It's just gorgeous. Too bad the gameplay doesn't hold up with the visual quality and tone of the game.

The single player portion of Raskulls takes place on an overworld map and each level follows a certain variation of the same core gameplay in Raskulls. The best description of how this game plays would be a mix of Mr. Driller and Mario Kart. You'll have to dig your way through an endless supply of blocks all while racing against a set number of opponents to finish line. There are a few items you can use to defend yourself, all pretty much derivative from Mario Kart and its clones, like fireballs, ghosts, and the ability to steal power-ups from enemies.

Even with the variety of objectives per level, though, the game's shallowness is hard to shake off. The gameplay is extremely limited, and even though it can be fun at the start, it only goes so far. There's hardly any strategy in play here, even in multiplayer. Sure, you can save power-ups for opportune times, but after a few matches both on and offline, you've pretty much seen everything the game has to offer.

click to enlargeIf you're the sort that might stomach this shallow gameplay, though, there's a fair bit of replayability. Most, if not all, of the stages are timed and those times are carried over to online leaderboards where you can battle it out with people on your friends list. There's also a few bonus levels hidden throughout the map that provide much more difficult challenges, mostly against the clock. Each stage you beat gives you a token, and some parts of the map can only be accessed after acquiring a set amount.

In terms of multiplayer, there's a limited number of modes to pick from. Like Mario Kart, you can choose to do a group of stages in succession, as a tournament with up to three other players (or bots), or you pick a specific level to race on. You can pick which Raskull you play as, but all skins play basically the same. Like the single-player portion of the game, it's fun to race against other people, but even with the sly human factor behind the intelligence of on-screen opponents, Raskulls' gameplay isn't stretched out enough.

I really liked the look and humor in Raskulls. I really did. Sadly, there's not a whole lot more to be had here. The single-player portion of the game is super short and I found very little to come back to after I completed the story, bonus levels or not.

It's a fun little game that won't last you too long. Much like this paragraph.
C+ Revolution report card
  • Cute and funny cast of characters
  • Colorful and sharp in HD
  • Fairly short campaign
  • +/- Some replayability
  • ...if you can stomach the shallow gameplay
  • ...even though it's fairly fun
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Raskulls
Also known as: rascals