More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Resident Evil: Code Veronica X Review

Zombie_Duke By:
Zombie_Duke
09/01/01
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Mmmm...year-old brains.

Now perhaps zombies aren't known for their intelligence or their oratory skills (except for Keith, the singing zombie), but please allow me to climb up on my zombie soapbox for a minute. It is often my habit when writing a game review to check out some other people's opinions. Unfortunately, this usually leads to the discovery that other people are morons. The GR editor in chief even wrote a rant about this once.

But still, I was astonished. So-called gaming "professionals" from a dozen places (I won't mention their tawdry websites here) had their facts all wrong. Review after review described the incredible differences between the PS2's Code Veronica X and the year-and-a-half-old Dreamcast version (which has no X). These writers gushed about the all new opening movie, and how the backgrounds were now all polygonal. Obviously a zombie had eaten their brains.

I'm here to tell you that there are exactly two differences between the old Dreamcast game and the new PS2 game. The PS2 game has:

(1) A couple new video clips in the middle of the game.
(2) An X.

But hey, X's are cool, right? Xtreme undead!

So it was way back in April of 2000 that I first wrote about Umbrella Corp's bold new financial venture on Zombie Island. How does it stand up now? Actually, pretty well. Umbrella's stock price might not have gone up, but it's only slumped a little bit while other tech companies have taken a bath.

Code Veronica was revolutionary for it's time, the best looking game for any system and scary to boot. While the new version may not have added anything, it's no cheap port like the disappointing RE3: Nemesis for the Dreamcast. Capcom spent some time making sure that their horrific vision remained true to the original. Perhaps the X stands for the amount of time it took.

Either way, this is a nearly X-act copy of the original - the voices, the puzzles, the control, the plot, everything. With only a couple minor tweaks, the graphics duplicate the DC game. Side by side, I'd be hard-pressed to figure out which one is which.

Read my old review if you want all the gory details - let's just get to the facts. You are Claire Redfield. In your search for your brother, Chris Redfield of original Resident Evil fame, you end up in a prison on Umbrella's island laboratory. True to form, the pesky T-virus gets loose and the island becomes plagued with shambling, groaning, fun-loving undead monsters. The zombies shuffle around, eating brains, breaking things, hiding the blue key on the other side of the island, and otherwise behaving like zombies. You must stop them and survive.

The same pitfalls that the first game faced - namely, some silly puzzles - are here once again. I have a question. Despite the fact that I need three keys, two emblems and a partridge in a pear tree to get past one locked door, there always seem to be zombies in just about every hard-to-reach spot in the game. For a bunch of brainless monsters, these guys sure know how to unlock things.

The graphics, like the DC version, are all polygonal, so no more flat backgrounds and motionless camera angles. They hold up well, despite the passage of X amount of time, and only look slightly dated compared to some of the very latest stuff about to come out like Metal Gear Solid 2 or Devil May Cry (demo disk included with Code Veronica X). The new video clips are fine and dandy, but since you probably didn't play the first one, you probably won't even notice them as being any more new than anything else.

All of this makes Code Veronica X a zombie in pretty good shape; let's just say she hasn't lost too much of her flesh yet. I know most of you probably haven't played the DC version, despite the fact that the system had games years ago that look as good as games coming out now. But the DC's tragic demise shouldn't stop any PS2 owners from picking up a copy of Veronica.

Assuming you haven't played it before, take this zombie for a dance around the floor and you won't be disappointed. And maybe someday the Dreamcast will be resurrected as a zombie.

B+ Revolution report card
  • Zombies!
  • Code Veronica
  • But you probably didn't play it
  • Scary and long
  • A long time ago
  • Silly puzzles

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Resident Evil: Code Veronica X