More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner 2: Raidou Kuzunoha vs. King Abaddon Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/29/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Atlus 
DEVELOPER Atlus 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Pyro Jack, I choose you!


I don't know who slipped the strong stimulants into the water at Atlus, but it's starting to feel like they're coding new entries to the Shin Megami Tensei series (SMT) overnight. I do believe this is the fourth game just on the PS2 to be released in the past seven hours. And weirdly enough, they all seem to be worth playing. If they can share whatever their secret is, we'd be floating in a sea of awesome for a long, long time!

click to enlargeShin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner 2 – Raidou Kuzonoha versus King Abbadon (holy crap, the only other name that long belongs to one of those dogs at the Westminster Dog Show!) is the story of you, Raidou Kuzonoha the 14th, a Devil Summoner. Your goal as a summoner is to protect the Capitol of Japan from being overrun by the evils of the world. And not just from cheats, pickpockets, and evil geniuses, but from demons! The whole story is presented like a mystery, with each character investigating another bit of the puzzle to try and figure out just what's going on in this classic-yet-modernized city.

Visually, the game very much reminds me of PSOne-era Square titles like Parasite Eve and Final Fantasy VII: beautifully-painted backdrops, a stationary camera to display all of the action (which only adjusts in the heat of battle), and every character model (even the random NPCs floating around each city) is detailed as much as the PS2's processors can possibly handle... and amazingly, it never even seems to get taxed. The only time this game lags is when it first loads up after the save menu.

I've only played one other SMT title before this one, so I didn't know exactly what to expect regarding the battle system, but I was pleasantly surprised. The actual fights consist of using both your main character and two demons of your choice from the cast you collect backing you up. You can fight with only your character, or with a single demon, but it's just so much easier to have multiple minions at your beck and call. It almost seems similar to a Pokémon battle; each character (Jack Frost is the new Pikachu, bitches!) has their type, their strengths and weaknesses, and thus have to be played accordingly against whomever you might be fighting.

click to enlargeLike demonic RoShamBo. Kinda.

Demon fusion is also an important element of the game. Every demon can be fused with nearly every other to create a new demon, which can then be controlled in battle. It's really the only way to unlock some of the demons that can't see reason, or be negotiated with... oh yeah, the negotiations! This game actually allows you to try and talk things out with your adversary instead of fighting out your differences. You'll have to give up a little somethin'-somethin' to get on their good side, but usually it's worth it.

There's one glaring flaw, though, that surprises me: no voice acting. At all. Ever. After experiencing Persona 3, I was expecting cut-scenes with full voice work or animated... anything... but alas, it's just a bulk-order of text. Which is especially boring during the long, drawn-out conversations. Each character is right there, next to their word bubble, and their mouths move like they want to speak... but it just stays silent. It gives off that feeling of being unfinished, or “retro” if you'd rather be kind about it (another similarity to the earlier-mentioned Parasite Eve and Final Fantasy VII).

Also, the environments, albeit beautiful, have their moments of being truly frustrating. While exploring the Capitol and all of its individual regions, you not only have to pay to go to certain areas, but to reach some spaces within a given area, you have to go through screen after screen and spot after spot of exploration. It's just becomes tedious, especially since there aren't too many save points scattered around. You could find yourself running through each area for an hour or more, then have to find your way back – after not fighting anything or gaining any items – to a point when you have to give up your fruitless quest or save (just to add hours to your “official” play time).

click to enlargeAnd while the story itself is easy enough to follow, a few of the characters bring it down. Many of them are notably cliché, even if they're still somewhat likable. The spunky lady reporter “trying to make it in a man's world” Tae is obviously crushing on Raidou, Narumi is a pompous jackass who's always right, and as for Raidou... he's a main character who never speaks despite being distinctively stylized? Check and mate.

However, there is so much to do here that the flaws in the plot and some scenarios are easy to ignore. Individual cases akin to the missions in Crisis Core: FFVII, demon fusion with numerous possibilities, and the battles themselves make this worth checking out if you're looking for a unique role-playing experience. True, the world of Personaa could use some improvement on the story and experience side, but the ambiance of the world of the Devil Summoners gives it a unique feel that's worth checking out.

And it's nice to see the PS2 getting some good material before it's finished... it's how I'd like to be put down, in the end.
B Revolution report card
  • Absolutely amazing environments
  • Character style is unique and detailed
  • . . .though some characters are unoriginal
  • Battles are good new/classic mix
  • Doesn't stand out in SMT universe
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner 2: Raidou Kuzunoha vs. King Abaddon