More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Rise of the Guardians Review

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
01/30/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER D3 Publisher 
DEVELOPER Torus Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E10 What do these ratings mean?

Amazon parents: I went to the movies and my kids' imaginations are so good they can make this game fun to play.

Rise of the Guardians is still sitting in my Wii U like a badge of shame that stares at me every time I boot it up to play games I've downloaded off the eShop. I beat the game before I left for my vacation in Oregon back in December and am only just now finally writing the review. Why have I let it sit so long? Because I knew it'd be a review I'd have difficulty getting into.

It's not that Rise of the Guardians is bad, per se; it's just not particularly good either. The problem is trying to figure out what to say about it at all. As far as generic top-down dungeon crawlers go, I suppose it's just fine, though it lacks the panache of translating a brand into the genre. It's functional, but it isn't interesting in any way.



The game follows the narrative of the film, and you can play as any of five "Guardians," mythical figures of childhood belief and faithSanta Claus, The Tooth Fairy, The Easter Bunny, The Sandman, or the newly recruited Jack Frostwith friends or AIs playing as the other characters. It plays lip service to the plot with a shadowy bad guy making nightmares and stealing the belief of children from The Guardians; they have to stop him before they wink out of existence. But it does so in such a lazy way with barely animated paper cut-out versions of the characters that I turned off the audio and listened to the soundtracks of better games instead. That meant I never really learned any character names, because I could not be bothered to get invested in a story that was so poorly told.

I played through the game as North, the Slavic (or vaguely Russian, I guess) Santa Claus character, who gruffly yells out short quips while I pressed and pressed (and pressed ) the basic attack button near enemies. Despite the lack of attention to the story, it's surprising how smoothly animated the figures move in the 2D plane. So it's frustrating how uninspired the level design is and how tiny the figures look on the screen.

The GamePad houses the level map and character stats, but it just goes to show that this is a lazy port for a lazy game. It had been developed to be as competently unbroken as possible, but in no way interesting or ambitious. In short, it's an example of most uninspired media tie-in shovelware.



While trolling around on Amazon, which recently learned with it's brainy algorithms that I have a Wii U, I saw it suggested I buy Rise of the Guardians for the system. Perhaps it did so because of the low volume of games currently available, or maybe because I also love any movie released in 3D. In any case, I decided to look at the reviews to see what kind of people bought the game. The answer was extremely to the point. You can check out the reviews yourself.

In short, that's who buys uninspired media tie ins: parents willing to play or provide a game for kids whose imaginations are active enough to overlook the flaws and imbue the game with their love of the film. So basically, the people who will enjoy this game have already purchased it for their children and live the joy of the movie vicariously with them.

This means that anyone else is probably better off just letting the thing sit on the shelf unless you need to unwind with the video game equivalent of pedestrian smooth jazz: bland, boring, uninventive, but still technically a functional example of the art form.

Copy provided by publisher. Review based on Wii U version.
Rise of the Guardians
fullfullfullemptyempty
  • Play as your favorite guardian
  • No real characterization
  • Relive the story of the movie
  • ...but it's very superficially told
  • Functional dungeon-crawling gameplay
  • Very easy difficulty
  • Boring
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   D3 Publisher
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Rise of the Guardians