More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Roccat ISKU Keyboard Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/04/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Hardware 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Roccat 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Gaming is serious business.


This being my third and final Roccat accessories review, I've come to the conclusion that the German engineers behind these things can't decide if they want to focus on comfort or technology, and end up throwing everything they've got into both.

The Kave 5.1 headset is really comfortable and the Kone+ mouse is really comfortable. Here's a keyboard, one of the most basic components to computer usage, and I'm yet again falling in love with the comfort of Roccat's product line. The ISKU Illuminated keyboard is the most comfortable keyboard I've ever used.


That's mostly thanks the mechanical keys and extra large wrist-pad. Ever used one of those keyboards that has that spongey material where your wrists land? Those things are bull shit. They get super dirty and grimy from your sweat, ultimately resulting in a disgusting end-user experience. The ISKU keyboard forgoes this and instead proposes a nice, sloped incline up to the keyboard.

Once you've got your fingers on the keys, it's hard not to fall for the way things click and react definitively to your inputs. As someone who types all day professionally, I can't overstate how nice the ISKU's mechanical keys are.

The illuminated keys have 3 brightness levels, and even though it's purely an aesthetic bonus, it's one that'll make all the difference when you go bragging about your gaming set up. Perhaps more important is the included driver software and macro support.


Right from the keyboard itself you can record macro key inputs, but if you want to get really technical, Roccat's driver software offers up a visual representation of your macro programming. You can even download macro sets for popular games, making macro switches almost unbelievably easy.

The true strength in the Roccat ISKU isn't all of these features or the Roccat Talk functionality that allows Roccat mice and keyboards to work together. In reality, the real strength of this unit is that everything is so stupidly easy that I don't know how I lived without the functionality before hand.

The Roccat ISKU is priced at $90, making it a little difficult to stomach an all out switch. However, much like the Kone+, I recommend tossing one of these into your cart when you're picking up components for your next brand new build. Why not treat your fingers to some new hardware while you're at it?
Roccat ISKU Keyboard
fullfullfullfullhalf
  • Again, comfort goes a long way.
  • Backlit, mechanical keys
  • The price
  • Macro support makes up for it though.
  • Where have you been all my life?
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   pc, roccat
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Roccat ISKU Keyboard
Also known as: roccat keyboard


More On GameRevolution