More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Roccat Kave 5.1 Suround Sound Gaming Headset Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/02/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Hardware 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Roccat 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Whisper in my ear.


I'd heard rumblings about German PC accessory manufacturer Roccat before, but I had never had any experience with their product before. Most game companies like to use Turtle Beach or Astro audio devices to demo their games at trade shows and events. Of course, those were all console games.

Roccat's PC-exclusive Kave 5.1 Surround Sound Headset is so beastly, I don't think this generation's consoles could properly contain every beat, screech, and explosion they're capable of.


I really couldn't be more impressed with a pair of computer-only headphones. The ear cups are extremely padded, making long sessions feel like clouds on your ears. The three pads on the headband help keep the weight of the headset evenly distributed too.

A detachable microphone and an easily accessible desktop control unit round out the functionality of the package, so that you don't look like a complete douche in your own home with the microphone. I quickly grew far too comfortable with the desktop control unit. With it featuring dedicated levels for the headset's subwoofer, front, rear, and center channels, I can't imagine using my audio cards driver to control sound ever again.

The Roccat Kave control unit also has a mic mute button and a game/movie switcher so that you don't have to completely redo your settings just because you've slipped into a less active form of entertainment.


All that said, this thing is super technical. You won't be able to just plug in and play around. Each of the 3.5mm plugs need to be properly installed so that you get everything you can out of the Kave's high-end hardware. That brings me to what is really my only gripe with Roccat's headset, which surprisingly, isn't the reasonable $119.99 price tag.

Unfortunately for anyone not married to their monstrous rig, the Kave 5.1 may not get as much use as it deserves. Because the headset is only compatible with desktop PCs, you won't be able to take it with you and enjoy the comfort and sound on the go or on any other gaming platform.

The fact that I actually want to take these massive ear cups with me is a testament to the sound quality and comfort Roccat has built into the Kave audio system. Screw those old speakers. If you're serious about sound and gaming on your PC, Roccat's got your back.
Roccat Kave 5.1 Suround Sound Gaming Headset
fullfullfullfullhalf
  • Comfort in design.
  • Ultimate sound-quality
  • Good value for price
  • Desktop control
  • No support for other devices.
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Roccat Kave 5.1 Suround Sound Gaming Headset
Also known as: roccat cave


More On GameRevolution