More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Roccat Kone+ Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/03/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Hardware 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Roccat 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

So much clicking, so little time.


I'm not one to complain about my computer mice. I mean, I've got a MacBook Pro on which I do a majority of my work. If the mouse I'm using let's me right-click, I'm already well satisfied. That's why I was a little overwhelmed by the Roccat Kone+.

Roccat's update to their tried and tested Kone gaming mouse brings with it a ton of customization, configuration options specifically for gaming, and integration with other Roccat products. Let's start at the beginning.


The Kone+ is plug and play, so you don't have to worry with any extensive software or driver installs. In fact, the first thing I did was try the hardware out on my Mac. That may seem sacriligious to some, but knowing whether I could work with the mouse was must-have information.

Part of why I've grown so accustomed to using a laptop track pad was because most computer mice have felt like nothing special. The Kone+ is extremely comfortable, though. Long boughts of gaming never left me with any cramping, but I can't tell if this is thanks to the expert design or the custom weighting I installed after opening the package.

Users can pick and choose exactly how heavy they want their Kone+ to be: light and feathery, or meaty with a bit of heft, or anything in between. The Kone+ also features all the technical jargon you could possibly want like a 6000DPI Pro-Aim Laser Sensor or Easy-Shift Button Duplication. Essentially, the Kone+ is really accurate and allows you access to a wealth of extra buttons thanks to Roccat's Easy-Shift tech.


The Kone+ is damn pretty too, complete with a solid 4-way scroll wheel, shifting 4 LED lighting, and a soft-touch finish. This is the one and only time I've had someone walk into my office and say "wow" about a mouse.

All that said, you might be doing fine with your current PC mouse. As I've illustrated here, you can grow far too accustomed to things. At $79.99, you might feel like the asking price is too steep to make a switch. The issue with gaming mice is that until you actually shell out the cash, it might be impossible to see how one is better than the other.

Another problem with the Kone+ is that some of the mouse functions (like the Easy Shift buttons) aren't accessible unless you've got a complete Roccat set up. Still, if you're building a new rig and want to throw in a new mouse and keyboard while you're at it, you can't do much better than the Kone+.
Roccat Kone+
fullfullfullfullempty
  • Comfort for long gaming sessions.
  • Technically top of the line.
  • The look
  • The feel
  • of Cotton... I mean Kone+
  • Easy-Shift requires Roccat Keyboard
  • Do you need a new mouse?
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Roccat Kone+
Also known as: roccat cone