More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Samurai Shodown Sen Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/18/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER XSEED 
DEVELOPER SNK Playmore 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Mild Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Can feudal fighting make it back to the future?


Samurai Shodown is one of those fighting franchises that resurfaces every few years in what can only be called a big fat tease. Apart from Street Fighter (and Soul Calibur, for the consoles at least), every contender for the arcade-styled video game brawler crown seems to have gone the way of the dodo, along with the entire arcade scene. Samurai Shodown Sen, the latest Shodown revival, tries to make good on its promises, but it merely plays on our nostalgia in a foolish guise to crack us on the head with a kendo stick.

click to enlargeWith a bevy of characters to choose from, all of which are unlocked from the start (save two boss characters), Samurai Shodown Sen does a good job of giving the player a choice of whom to kick some feudal Japanese ass. Characters range from the traditional samurai, the mouthy samurai in training, the other samurai who is probably drunk, and another samurai in red instead of blue. If that's a little too much samurai for you, there's the usual fighting genre schlock like French fencers, nefarious ninjas, and violent Vikings, not to mention a blonde Japanese princess who would give even Cloud Strife sword envy. Some of the battlers might look alike, but SNK Playmore has done a good job creating some very different fighting styles across all those combatants. Players will find it easy to discover a new character to tool around with after growing bored with their current fighter.

Unfortunately, the bare mechanics of the game make every character boring very quickly. Samurai Shodown Sen has ripped the franchise from its cozy little 2D home in our nostalgia-laced heads and thrust it into 3D, a la another weapons-based fighter that rhymes with "Schmoul Schmalibur". It's obvious the series didn't get the polish it needed - the character models and backgrounds all look worse than even Xbox 360 launch title standards like "Schmead or Schmalive 4". Fighters seem to be smothered in bad textures, while arenas are populated with the same swaying grass model copy and pasted one hundred times over. Even Olympic synchronized swimming teams aren't this good (not that I watch synchronized swimming [okay, I do]).

Samurai Shodown Sen also suffers from control overlap confusion. You're supposed to be able to step into the foreground and background, but these movements conflict with crouching and jumping. The result is an unintuitive garbled mess. You expect to dodge a vertical slash, but jump right into one instead. Trying to duck that horizontal attack? Too bad. Samurai Shodown Sen is the only game where your opponent will be able to argue that you ran into his punch. No crying to mommy on this one.

click to enlargeBeyond that, single player modes are ruined by the typical unhealthy spike in difficulty and the absurdly difficult bosses. Tacked on to help the player combat the sheer killing ability of the computer is a one-hit kill system that I honestly never got any use out of. As you take damage you'll build up energy for this super-charged attack that requires you to hit a ton of buttons at once (or the RB button as I later found out). But if you're winning matches in single player, you're probably not going to be using this one-hit kill mechanic.

Online is a completely different story... in that there's no online community to speak of. I arranged an online match with someone else in a forum, but as far as searching for quick matches and creating lobbies goes, you're going to be stuck holding the phone. There are all the standard modes a fighting game should have, like Survival mode, and there are bloody finishes that leave your opponent handless, headless, or with a spurting chest wound, but none of those things are going to save the game.

Samurai Shodown Sen is a dojo of mediocrity that would have been better as an easy downloadable 2D revival. Fighting game aficionados will find this title lacking precise controls and mechanics, while newcomers who are bored with Street Fighter IV and need more to do with their expensive Tournament Edition Fight Stick should really look into other titles that are much, much better.
D+ Revolution report card
  • Lots of characters
  • Varied fighting style
  • Poor transition into 3D
  • Shoddy, frustrating mechanics
  • Tacked-on insta-kill gimmick
  • Laborious, difficult single player
  • No one online to slice and dice
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Samurai Shodown Sen
Also known as: samurai showdown sen


More On GameRevolution