More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Scrap Metal Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/26/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Microsoft Game Studios 
DEVELOPER Slick Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Alcohol and Tobacco Reference, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This ain't your mom's station wagon.


Games can have this incredible power over you, can't they? Sometimes a game can be moving, like Mass Effect. Sometimes a game can be exciting, like Modern Warfare 2. Sometimes a game can make your skin crawl and scare your pants off, like Silent Hill. Scrap Metal is none of these, but it is pure, arcadey fun, the likes of which haven't been seen since video games jumped into 3D.

click to enlargeScrap Metal, from Slick Entertainment, is an overhead car-combat game, kind of like Twisted Metal or Vigilante 8, except without the behind-the-car viewpoint. The single-player mode is packed with 61 missions across 8 different race tracks, each of which are altered slightly to accommodate different mission types. You might think those 61 missions make for one long demolition derby, but you'd be wrong.

In fact, variety is one of Scrap Metal's strongest attributes. Every race track has a demolition derby mission where you have to destroy a certain number of cars within the time limit, or an elimination race where the car in last place is blown to smithereens at the end of each lap, but it also throws extra missions that involve each track's boss. In East District, for example, you'll play an early mission that has you protecting a gas tanker from some thugs. There are a couple of VIP missions sprinkled throughout the game, but what's great about East District is that in a later mission, you'll drive the tanker with a flamethrower strapped to it, laying a fiery trap for those punks who were harassing the shipment earlier.

Missions like those have a very Grand Theft Auto feel to them, especially if you think back to the Rampage missions of the series. They're certainly not the highest-minded fun you could have playing video games these days, but this kind of gameplay hasn't lost its charm on anyone who remembers it fondly.

After every mission, you'll be given a medal based on your performance in the mission. Some missions are on a pass or fail basis, but it's all contextual. These medals determine how many upgrade points you get for completing the mission, so you can upgrade cars unlocked just by playing through missions. You can upgrade a car's speed, grip, armor, and firepower. Your garage holds four cars and new cars will rotate in where old cars once sat, but you'll have to upgrade the new cars as well. Scrap Metal constantly forces you to  build up your garage and experiment with the different vehicle types in different races as the difficulty mounts.

click to enlargeUnfortunately, that difficulty builds unevenly; the first five race tracks are all fairly easy, but then you start to run into a wall. As the requirements surmount, so do the opponents. Suddenly, destroying 20 vehicles in 3 minutes seems ungodly because everyone is avoiding your big monster truck and gunning you down from behind. One boss in particular, Petrov Piston, had me throwing my controller to the ground. I don't often curse at my video games, but when I finally beat that guy, I made sure he knew it.

After that, the remaining missions maintain a difficulty level fit only for John McClane. Couple that with a terrible arcade rock soundtrack only Shadow the Hedgehog could love and you've got a recipe for some horrifically frustrating gameplay time. Huh, you know it said Scrap Metal couldn't move, entertain, or scare, and it's done all of these over the course of this review!

I was really entertained by the mission variety; I was so moved by the difficulty scale that I through my controller, and I was horrified by the soundtrack. I know that doesn't sound all-too-great, but Scrap Metal is a pretty decent game overall. There's plenty of fun to be had in its arcade throwback design and even more hours of gameplay to share online in multiplayer. If you're looking for something to relax and just have fun with, Scrap Metal is your game.
C+ Revolution report card
  • Lots of mission variety
  • Good value, hours of gameplay
  • Tight controls, tight mechanics
  • Upgrade cars and build a garage
  • Old-school arcade design
  • Terrible soundtrack
  • Uneven difficulty
  • Made me seem crazy
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Scrap Metal