More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Shivers 2 Review

By:
Thomas_Garcia
06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Sierra 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

"Shoot a video, solve a mystery..."

The fresh new band Trip Cyclone is entering a contest sponsored by the popular ROKTV station. For the summer, they decided to take a trip to a southwestern town called Cyclone to earn some money and shoot their new videos. You were supposed to meet up with them, but you haven't heard from them in a while, and as you suit up and hop on your dirt bike to see what happened, prepare for a mysterious, graphic monument as Sierra once again produces another quality mystery game.

Shivers 2 is an adventure/puzzle-solver that combines the mystery of 7th Guest with the surrealism of Myst. The game is non-linear, meaning you are free to explore the entire town and solve each puzzle in any order you choose (with a few exceptions). Shivers 2 provides a great interface, excellent graphics, and chilling sound effects.

Shivers 2 left me hanging a little when it came down to actual gameplay (a little on the slow side). And since my personal preference in puzzle games is intellectual (Myst), as compared to try-fail-try again (7th Guest), I found most of the puzzles to be boring, repetitive, and solvable simply by luck.

The interface is very good. It's simple, helpful, and doesn't take up too much room: everything it should be. You use your mouse to point and click on hot objects, examine them, and use them. Pretty standard amongst games of this type.

The graphics are truly well done. Each environment is rendered in 3D SVGA graphics, making a stunning fantasy become a reality. Along with great scenes, Shivers 2 also allows you to pan around in each position. Rather than being limited to stationary scenes like Myst and 7th Guest, you are able to look anywhere you choose simply by putting your mouse cursor in the corresponding area on your screen. This feature is a great addition because it requires you to be more alert - you never know what you'll miss if you don't look up...or down.

This game comes complete with an actual audio CD of Trip Cyclone's greatest hits. I'm not one for cheesy rocker music, but the tracks aren't all that bad. The sound effects are very realistic and never repetitive.

While Sierra did an excellent job on all technical aspects of the game (sound, graphics, interface), the plot and gameplay just left me unsatisfied. The puzzles have no relevance whatsoever to the development of the plot, and the town is completely deserted. There is no interaction between characters, just reading personal notes. Since the non-linear nature of the game makes it hard to really develop a plot in the right order, you go almost the entire game with the same information (except when you read a notebook or at the very end).

I was also very disappointed in the endings. Even though there are three possible, two of them are obvious (win, lose), and the other is just kind of stupid. There is no great finale. You just saw the bad guy disappear, and an ending screen saying you won. Hooray for me.

Apart from all criticism, Sierra does deserve a lot of credit in the making of this game. It takes a lot for an adventure game to really keep my attention, and Shivers 2. So for all of you out there who enjoyed 7th Guest or other mystery games, check this game out - I think you'll enjoy it. However, if you're thirsting for a great adventure game before Riven comes out, this is a far cry from the sophistication of Myst.

C+ Revolution report card
  • Excellent Graphics
  • Great Sound
  • Good interface & Panning feature
  • Repetitive puzzles
  • Slow gameplay
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Shivers 2


More On GameRevolution