More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Sins of a Solar Empire: Entrenchment Review

geoff_hunt By:
Geoff_Hunt
04/15/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RTS 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Stardock 
DEVELOPER Ironclad Games 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

Oh wait, it really does just feel like labor.


In space… you can’t actually dig trenches.

click to enlargeSome of you may be familiar with Sins of a Solar Empire. You may also be aware that I liked it a great deal [That's an 'A-'... from Geoff, peoples. ~Ed.] This is still basically the case – Sins of a Solar Empire remains a solid title with some strong tactical foundations, good visuals, and variety of content. In terms of what is brought to the table, though, Entrenchment is mostly a disappointment.

One of the classic complaints some folks have about Sins of a Solar Empire – not my complaint, so much – is that there are few effective defensive tools you can rely upon to secure a system. The collection of defensive emplacements that you could load into a system, while an excellent aide to a defending fleet, can not deter a concerted attack on its own.

This is one of the elements of Sins that I appreciated: To play the game well, you needed to engage in a regular push-and-pull of advance and retreat, constantly looking for weaknesses in your opponent’s posture. It was not a turtling-friendly game. Entrenchment re-jiggers that significantly.

Fresh to Sins with the Entrenchment micro-expansion are starbases, one for each faction. Although each varies in the particulars, all are similar in basic intent: create an extremely resilient, powerful defensive tool. And all of them do this… a little too well. Each starbase, when upgraded sufficiently, become near-insurmountable defensive structures, pouring lasers and missiles far across the gravity wells of the planets they orbit. So tough are these starbases that full fleets can be ground down by one.

The result is a game that feels much less dynamic. With the ability to place a couple starbases at a chokepoint in the jump pathways, it becomes fairly easy to convert the game into a classic turtle-fest. The most ingenious tactic you can muster is baiting your opponent, and few rise to the occasion. It makes the game… dull.

click to enlargeWorse, since the release of Entrenchment, Sins has been much less stable for me. Since starbases require maneuvering much larger fleets about, many battles run the risk of bogging down or crashing hardware now – a problem that rarely arose due to the original's distributed, dynamic warfare. I’ve encountered plenty of crashes now, and my rig is not an anemic pup that stutters its way through Half-Life 2.

The other additions to the game include more defensively focused research options to turn many of the tactical platforms into effective support mechanisms for starbases and defensive fleets. I suspect that without the extremism of starbases, these would be welcome changes – as is, though, they simply exacerbate the problem.

Hopefully, the next expansion will bring some changes to the table that round out the game a little more, and strike a new balance. I’m tired of stalemates.

D+ Revolution report card
  • Still a good-looking game
  • Starbases are way too tough
  • All about defense now
  • Instability issues
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sins of a Solar Empire: Entrenchment
Also known as: Sins of a Solar Entrenchment