More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Smart Review

By:

06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Random Soft 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Put on your thinking cap...

Sick of all those recruiting letters from MENSA? Tired of talking down to all those half-wit scientists at the astrophysics lab? Does the size of your brain make it difficult for you to buy hats? Have we got the game for you. If you're smart enough, you could even win some dough!

Smart Games: Challenge #1 is a true test of intellect. There is no story line, no characters, no goal, and no fancy graphics. What is there? Puzzles! Hundreds of logic puzzles (vocabulary and math help too). Watch out! This game might be good for your brain.

Many people who enjoy a little mental exercise now and then will remember The Fool's Errand and 3 in Three. These are the only software titles that even begin to compete with Smart Games for the sheer number of puzzles and required brainpower.

There are twenty different categories of puzzle, from the innovative to the classics. 'Viewing Cubes' will test your ability to mentally rotate 3D objects. In 'Traffic' you must set the parameters for the traffic lights at a series of intersections, then click the go button and watch the little cars navigate. Efficiency is the goal here. 'Word Melt' challenges you to turn one word into another by changing only one letter at a time, but you must spell a real English word every step of the way. This particular type of puzzle was invented by Lewis Carroll about 100 years ago. For a game that is thousands of years old, try 'Marble Jump'.

Add cryptograms, anagrams, a game where you must decipher an artificial language, and dozens of other kinds of puzzles. This is many hundreds of hours worth of game-time. "But Irwin," you ask, "Didn't I hear you mention money?"

So it's the big green that you're after... How about $10,000 per round for five rounds? Every puzzle in Smart Games awards you a score. Don't worry, you can always go back and try again; the game only records your highest score. At the bottom of the screen is a running tabulation of all your puzzle scores. Highest total takes the cash.

One word of warning: My brain is so huge that it influences the tides. That first 10k is mine.

B Revolution report card
  • Highly Intellectual.
  • Great puzzle variety.
  • Healthier than eating your greens.
  • No graphics or story.

    Not for everyone.

    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Smart