More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Smart Review

By:

06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Random Soft 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Put on your thinking cap...

Sick of all those recruiting letters from MENSA? Tired of talking down to all those half-wit scientists at the astrophysics lab? Does the size of your brain make it difficult for you to buy hats? Have we got the game for you. If you're smart enough, you could even win some dough!

Smart Games: Challenge #1 is a true test of intellect. There is no story line, no characters, no goal, and no fancy graphics. What is there? Puzzles! Hundreds of logic puzzles (vocabulary and math help too). Watch out! This game might be good for your brain.

Many people who enjoy a little mental exercise now and then will remember The Fool's Errand and 3 in Three. These are the only software titles that even begin to compete with Smart Games for the sheer number of puzzles and required brainpower.

There are twenty different categories of puzzle, from the innovative to the classics. 'Viewing Cubes' will test your ability to mentally rotate 3D objects. In 'Traffic' you must set the parameters for the traffic lights at a series of intersections, then click the go button and watch the little cars navigate. Efficiency is the goal here. 'Word Melt' challenges you to turn one word into another by changing only one letter at a time, but you must spell a real English word every step of the way. This particular type of puzzle was invented by Lewis Carroll about 100 years ago. For a game that is thousands of years old, try 'Marble Jump'.

Add cryptograms, anagrams, a game where you must decipher an artificial language, and dozens of other kinds of puzzles. This is many hundreds of hours worth of game-time. "But Irwin," you ask, "Didn't I hear you mention money?"

So it's the big green that you're after... How about $10,000 per round for five rounds? Every puzzle in Smart Games awards you a score. Don't worry, you can always go back and try again; the game only records your highest score. At the bottom of the screen is a running tabulation of all your puzzle scores. Highest total takes the cash.

One word of warning: My brain is so huge that it influences the tides. That first 10k is mine.

B Revolution report card
  • Highly Intellectual.
  • Great puzzle variety.
  • Healthier than eating your greens.
  • No graphics or story.

    Not for everyone.

    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Smart


More On GameRevolution