More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
05/29/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Sonic Team 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Sadly, it's reached this point.


I grew up as one of the rare few who didn't pick a side during the Sega/Nintendo wars of the early '90s. There was too much awesome to go aroundit was a magnificent time. But after a while, Mario was declared the winner in my eyes due to more impressive, interesting level design. Sonic was damn pretty, but it was Mario's stage structure that stood out in my mind… while Sonic focused entirely on being pretty and fast.

Now, I recognize that the whole point of Sonic games is to go super-fast and fly by on reflex. But if that's the thought, Episode II is not all there. Sonic by comparison handles okay, but still runs a bit too slippery for my tastes. Though most of the levels are primarily structured to let him run without interruption, there's inevitably a puzzle element thrown that requires Tails' help, which break up any semblance of speed built earlier in the stage.



There's nothing quite like getting a full head of steam only to have to stop completely, figure out what needs doing, and try to recover the speed from before, all for the sake of the simplest of irritating "puzzles" where the answer is literally given right next to the "puzzle" itself. Way to keep up the blistering pace, fellas...

Speaking of controls, I cannot throw any more hatred at the the levels involving Tail's "Sonic F" biplane. Thankfully, it's only in a few levels, but those are the lowest I've played in a 2D Sonic title. Not only are they sluggish, but they're out-and-out boring. If the plane bits were put in to make the rest of the stages look better, then it's an unfortunate success. Sure, they break up the action, but I get the feeling they're more of an accident than a creative decision.

The reintroduction of Metal Sonic is cool and the stages featuring him are a fun reminder of the good ol' days, but fighting him feels more based on chance than actually figuring out his timing. The rest of the bosses are hit or miss, some being easy to figure out and capturing that classic vibe, while others being simply a matter of playing it enough times to get lucky. Did I mention I hated flying Tails' plane? The boss battle with that blasted thing is so subtle that I didn't know the battle had even started five minutes in. Could've used some clarity there, developers.



If looked at just for its visual beauty, Sonic 4 does just fine. It's still one of the prettiest platformers I've ever seen, even with the background flying away at breakneck (or painfully "sorta-quick") speeds. The bonus round ripped from Sonic 2 looks great, and it's a nice return to the one bonus in the series that I didn't find utterly frustrating.  But everything here feels recycled. Nothing stands out as particularly original.

Some of the late stages are more than a little stomach-churning with how they play around with physics. When I'm already trying to let the level blur past, the view in my tunnel-vision rotating back and forth very quickly makes me physically ill. If not for the upbeat techno tracks surrounding everything… wait, those make me want to puke too. But in a kinder, more retro-loving way.

With 13 levels, 7 bonus round incarnations, and 5 boss fights, Sonic 4 Episode 2 can be easily played through in a single sitting,and doesn't take much longer if you're really looking for completion. It doesn't so much give that feeling of nostalgia, as much as it reminds you of what the series used to be, and for me, how much I'd rather play Sonic 2 again; especially when the first three entries in the series can be purchased (along with a host of other Genesis classics) in compilations like Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection for the same price asor less thanthis $15 episode.

Code provided by publisher. Review based on PSN version.
Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode 2
fullfullhalfemptyempty
  • Presentation is pretty
  • Speed is still there
  • ...until puzzles slow things down
  • Bosses are meh
  • Tails needs a better plane
  • Light package for the price
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   Sega, Sonic

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode 2
Also known as: Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode II