More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

South Park Rally Review

By:
G-Wok
08/01/00
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Acclaim 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Comic Mischief, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

This time, Kenny ain't the only one who is dead...

Okay, I admit it. I like South Park. Where else can you find bad animation, toilet humor, and Cartman's fat ass rolled up into one neat little half-hour package?

To capitalize on the popularity of the series, Acclaim and Comedy Central have teamed up to bring us yet another title in the South Park video game lineup. So what is it this time? Fingerbang: The Game? Fun with Cherokee Hair Tampons? Timmer Teaches Typing? Nope, we get kart racing.


I really don't know what Acclaim is thinking when they make these South Park games. The first two were utter garbage and South Park Rally doesn't help the series at all. I guess when you've got a moneymaker like the show, you've got to exploit it in every way possible. I love America.

South Park Rally is basically a race through the many scenarios of South Park. The story (for lack of a better word) explains that the dissidents, I mean, residents of South Park hold kart races to commemorate each and every holiday. Race through Cow Days, Spring Cleaning Day, and even Big Gay Al's Big Gay Pink Lemonade... Day. Uh, mmmkay.

The tracks themselves are rather plain, with not much in the way of shortcuts to help you out. What is unique, though, is the actual layout of the race. First of all, it really isn't linear. Your racer must hit several checkpoints in order to complete a "lap," but these checkpoints aren't in any sort of order and you may even have to double back the way you just came in order to reach the next one. This type of setup is decent if confusing, and I hate having to run back and forth. It almost feels as if you're not really getting anywhere.

Graphically, South Park Rally is pretty lame, but then again the real deal cartoon doesn't look that hot, either. Textures are bland and the whole thing just lacks inspiration. However, the framerate is pretty clean and the races move along well.

The weapon pick-ups also keep with the South Park theme. You've got your Barf puddles, chocolate salty balls, underwear gnomes, and even a nasty case of herpes. Most of these weapons function as typical missile, bomb, and speed types, but some of them are just plain weird. When was the last time visions of Saddam Hussein flashed repeatedly on your TV screen? Nevermind, don't answer that.

South Park Rally also falls victim to the evil control demon. Driving in general is a major headache as the karts easily bounce around after taking the slightest hit. Cornering is awkward; in order to negotiate the game's tough turns and creepy curves, you constantly need to slow down. Power sliding won't even save you from this mess, as it often leaves you smacked right up against the side of a wall.

The only thing that can save a lame South Park game is some fantastic South Park humor. Some cool one liners from the show can at least keep things interesting. Indeed, as you begin to play through, you hear all the vocal goodness of your favorite South Parkians. Then you'll hear it again. And again. And again. The same lines repeat over and over until you get nauseous. Bleech!

While the game tries to stay in typical South Park character, it just fails. There's even some lengthy load time thrown in with all the other crappiness. I think it's safe to say that after three failed attempts, South Park does not belong in a video game. Then again, the opening does say that "the following game contains coarse language and due to its content should not be played by anyone." True, true. Screw this game, I'm going home.

D Revolution report card
  • It's South Park!
  • Bad track design
  • Tough control
  • They butchered the lines!
  • Long load times
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about South Park Rally


More On GameRevolution