More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Spongebob Squigglepants Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
05/16/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Minigame 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER THQ 
DEVELOPER Wayforward 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

"Aww, too bad! Hitch up your poop deck and try again! YEEEAAAHHH!!!"


Yeah, that pirate from Spongebob told me to hitch up my poop deck. Nick and I couldn't stop staring at the screen. "What the hell would my 'poop deck' be, creepy fan-club-card-carrying pirate?" Ah, Spongebob. You elicit a few different reactions from the over-twenty crowd, you know. Either people absolutely love you (and wear the PJs and boxer shorts) or they want to eat your pineapple under the sea just to see you homeless.

click to enlargeBut this isn't about the character of Spongebob (or the rest of the undersea gang), but how does the game play? Put bluntly, it's WarioWare. The game consists of a handful of "beat 20 games" challenges comprised of what seems like only a handful of "micro-games" each. There are probably more, as I found others after I had beaten the challenges, but they tend to loop incessantly; in a 20-round span I played the same one probably six or seven times. There are only so many times I'll be interested in putting ketchup on a burger patty.

On top of the looping games, you probably know what the next downside would be: It's incredibly short. I basically ripped it wide open in around an hour. An hour. Back in the NES (and even SNES) days, an hour wasn't a terrible time to clock in at, but it even then it was considered a pretty short experience. I spent more time working through every level of Super Mario Brothers 3 or reaching for the sky in Bubble Bobble, and I had a lot of fun in those short spans because there was always something different to play.

click to enlargeThe real disappointment here is that none of the voice acting or characters are actually here, save for the creepy pirate fellow telling me to "hitch up my poop deck". Sure, the designs of the characters show up, but they don't speak at all, just more like "insert character of choice here". Any dev could swap out the Sponge and put in Bakugan, or Sonic, or Pikachu, and it would be exactly the same experience (well, dunno if the creepy pirate would come along for the ride, though he did keep mentioning a meeting with his agent when I waited a little while on the select screen).

But really, as far as reflex games, this isn't too terrible to play. Each "beat 20 games" setup has its own personality and artistic style - along with some fitting and pretty cool music to match - so it's not a total loss. I can't say it's worth retail price for something that reeks of Wario's attitude ("I wanna make-ah tha MONEY!"), but I've played much, much worse with characters I like more. To this game I say, "There are no tears in pirating! Hoist up your anchor and try again!"
C Revolution report card
  • Each grouping of games has personality
  • The games themselves are amusing
  • …but they loop so often
  • Super short
  • +/- The pirate fella says some weird stuff
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Spongebob Squigglepants