More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Star Wars: Obi-Wan Review

By:
G-Wok
12/01/01
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Help me Obi Wan Kenobi, you're my only hope.

A long time ago, at a trade show far, far away, LucasArts showed off their first original action game for the Xbox. Known simply as Obi Wan, this third person action title would follow the early adventures of young padawan learner Obi Wan in his struggles against the Trade Federation and a mysterious new foe called the Jin'ha. Since then, Obi Wan has grown in the ways of the Force, but it's pretty obvious he still has a thing or two to learn.

Obi Wan takes place before (and during) the events of Episode 1, when our young jedi friend was still training under Qui-Gon Jinn. As the title character, you'll slash your way through 15+ levels including Coruscant, Naboo, and even Tatooine. It's pretty much a nonstop lightsaber-fest, with not much else in the way to slow you down.

The hands-down coolest thing about Obi Wan is the Force powers. Remember all of those cool little tricks that were in the movies? There are a bunch of them you can do here.

Let's say you're walking down a dark alley in Coruscant when, all of a sudden, a surly Rodian bounty hunter pops out brandishing a nasty looking Klatooine handblaster. You could: (A) use the Force to rip the gun from his hands and then cut him down with your lightsaber; (B) use the Force to smash him up against the nearest wall then chop him up with your saber; (C) use the Force to somersault over him, then cut him down again with your lightsaber; (D) use your lightsaber to deflect one of his laser bolts back at him; (E) use the Force to hit him with a nearby heavy object, making it unnecessary to dirty your lightsaber; or (F) just skip all of the fancy stuff and hit him with the lightsaber. With so many possible actions, being a jedi has never been more fun.

Just swinging around your lightsaber is pretty cool as well. Instead of relying on the buttons, Obi Wan makes use of the right analog stick to control young Kenobi's strikes. Push 'up' and he'll execute an overhand swing, while pushing 'right' or 'left' will result in the appropriate side strike. Blocking is made easy by simply pushing 'down' and double tapping the attack directions will result in combos. That's not even including the attacks that happen when you kick in the Force!

But after basking in the warm glow of the Jedi's abilities, things begin to head toward the Dark Side. The actual control of Obi Wan himself is very loose. Just running around can be troublesome, often causing you to get into an awkward position in battle. If your lightsaber skill is up to par, it won't kill you, but it certainly doesn't help in a few of the game's platformer jumping bits.

The level design generally turns out to be just a cut above boring. For much of the game, you'll be running through Spartan environments with very little in the way of interaction. Considering all the nifty Force powers you are bestowed with, I would have liked to see some cool hidden areas or alternate pathways that could only be found when you used the Force.

There are also a few times when your progress just stops and you don't know what to do next. It's pretty frustrating to say the least. At least there are some outdoor bits to keep the monotony of corridor battles at bay.

Delving deeper into the Dark Side, you'll find the occasional framerate crunch. It doesn't happen too often, but it's in there enough to notice. I must admit, though, that on one occasion the slow-mo action made the lightsaber battle actually look cooler - kind of like a crunchy lightsaber bullet time. And no, I'm not talking about the smoothed out Force power slowdown.

Rounding out the the list of Force flubs is the graphics, specifically in regard to the characters. I've never seen jedi look so blocky (well, except maybe The Phantom Menace). It's only mildly annoying during play, but the cut-scene close ups might make you wince.

At least we still get that great Star Wars sound. I mean, what would a lightsaber battle be without that classic snap hiss of those trademark blades?

Surprisingly enough, Obi Wan also includes a two-player Jedi Battle mode for you to enjoy with a friend. Progressing through the main mode will earn new characters from the Jedi Council, but none of the really cool guys like Yoda are available. Too bad it's just you and another jedi whacking away at each other. A nice addition, but it won't make you that much stronger in the Force.

After Darth Maul has fallen and the galaxy is made a little safer, it's easy to see that being a jedi is pretty fun. Bashing bad guys with Force powers and swinging that saber is plenty cool. But the evil control, level design and graphics from the Dark Side can turn a good jedi like Obi Wan bad. A wise jedi would rent.

C+ Revolution report card
  • Great Force powers!
  • That great Star Wars sound
  • Sweet lightsaber control
  • Not so sweet Obi Wan control
  • Dull levels
  • Blocky graphics

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Star Wars: Obi-Wan


More On GameRevolution