More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes Review

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
10/08/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER LucasArts 
DEVELOPER Krome 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Force is “meh” with this one.


The latest addition to the plethora of merchandise based off the highly stylized Star Wars: The Clone Wars animated series comes in the form of a game. So let’s face the facts right now: It’s made for kids more than it’s made for lonely 30-year-old virgins who still have a Han Solo in Hoth battle gear clothes mint in box. No, this is definitely made for a younger, more forgiving audience. But there too much to forgive here, even for a child. For everything cool and innovative that The Clone Wars tries, there is something equally as broken.

click to enlargeEssentially, The Clone Wars is two games in one: half Jedi-with-lightsaber hack-and-slash platformer, half run-and-gun Clone Trooper shooter. This identity crisis isn’t as bad as it seems, though as much fun as it is to be a Jedi, it’s the more broken of the two level types. Sure, it gives you the chance to pull off some cool moves with some very basic button-mashing (like I said, kids game), and the ability to take over the various droids to defeat your enemies and get through obstacles is something fresh and innovative in Star Wars games, but it’s all ruined by poor camera placement and total lack of depth perception.

The "long distance relationship" that you end up having with most of the force-oriented action is a huge problem right from the get-go. If you enjoyed falling over and over and over again in Mirror’s Edge or Prince of Persia, then you won’t have a problem with not being able to tell where you’re jumping here. It’s a good thing they went the Lego route and gave you unlimited lives or else it would have been unplayable. It’s the worst George Lucas-approved platforming since Jedi Power Battles for the PS1.

Clone Trooper battles play more like a very watered-down Gears of War (once again, for the little chittlins). Hide behind something, shoot the robots until they explode, move to the next area, repeat. It reminds me of the old arcade game, Cabal, in a lot of ways, but without the challenge of having to aim at your targets. You can just kind of fire in the general direction of your enemies and they’ll fall before you. I think if this was what the whole game was like, it would’ve been better... I know, I can’t believe that I’m actually recommending they take Jedis out of a Star Wars title. Oh, the geeky blasphemy of it all!

click to enlargeGraphically, everything is mediocre. Levels have a lot going on visually, but lack polish. Overall, everything has a grainy sandpaper-ish quality to it and the cut-scenes that are done with the in-game engine seem unfinished. You can still see the sharp lines from the wire frames of some of the character models, especially Anakin Skywalker, who ends up looking like a demon-possessed Muppet thirsty for blood.

I get the feeling that development on Star Wars: The Clone Wars may have been rushed to coincide with the release of the second season of the show, which is kind of a shame because there is a lot potential in the concepts behind it. But a family-friendly game really needs to be accessible to kids first and foremost but still fun for adults as well, which is what made the Lego Star Wars games so much fun to play. But all the platform follies you’ll face playing this game take away that accessibility. I think if they’d been given another month or two to put another coat of paint on this one, we may have seen something really fun that would’ve pleased fans of all ages. As it stands now though, the Dark Side of the Force clouds everything.

(Duplicate on PS3.)

C- Revolution report card
  • Some decent Clone Trooper Levels
  • Some innovative gameplay mechanics
  • Bad camera
  • Graphics don’t feel done
  • Unlimited lives…
  • …because you fall off cliffs all the time

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes


More On GameRevolution