More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Storm Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
07/12/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER indiePub 
DEVELOPER Eko Software 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

There’s some weather a-brewin’.

Storm is an enigma for me. I enjoy a good puzzle game, but usually there’s an element of familiarity to make for an easy entry, a sort of nostalgic focal point if you will. But there isn’t anything like that here. It’s not like Portal, with a clear start-and-end-point system and a gun with only two modes to use. Storm is not like any other puzzler I’ve played before, at least none I can think of without brooding. Even though it’s based in the natural world, it just doesn’t feel quite so... natural.

The whole goal is to get one seed from its mother tree onto the next empty space in the soil, where it can grow and, in certain levels, sprout another tree to grow another seed that needs to find another soil space. Such is the circle of plant life. It sounds pretty easy, but the tools you're given are those of nature: Wind, rain, lightning, and snow are all sporadically available to a player depending on the stage they find themselves in.



Each element acts differently, obviously; for instance, wind pushes a seed in whatever direction is necessary. Then the next element to use depends on the type of seed that needs to be manipulated—some float, some sink, some are bigger or smaller. It's interesting enough in concept, but in execution it's not quite as calm and zen as it sounds. (Hint: There will be swearing when playing.)

Some of the puzzles are simply infuriating, and not in the best way. There are plenty of moments where a failed attempt feels entirely out of your control, simply due to a seed being caught up on something and no amount of wind or water can do anything about it. I went though my Wild Seeds, or level-skipping allowance, in almost three straight puzzles, then got one more, and then I was stuck. No matter what I do or how I try to rationalize a stage and think I've actually figured it out, I can still very, very easily find myself locked up on a rock or a corner, forcing a complete do-over of the entire level. Even when I've figured them out, it's hit or miss.



Adventure Mode is the starting spot for everybody, as it's the way to unlock stages for the other two modes, Free and Spirit. Free allows you to replay the stages you've completed already, and Spirit has you run through each level and "collect" spirits in the levels with a timer. I think it was made to entice players to replay the levels, but I don't really know why anyone would want to. Sure, they're pretty and the sound effects are well-done, but we all know by now that graphics don't make the game, and they certainly don't do the trick well enough here that I want to sit through essentially the same path I've figured out before, only again with the spotty mechanics.

This concept behind Storm does have potential, but until it feels more controlled and less like an irritating crapshoot, I'm going to have to pass. The presentation is all well and good, but only when there's a game that's wrapped in that little blanket am I interested. Storm looks like a comfy blanket… until them damn wildfires start up and slowly spread across my controller.
 
Code provided by publisher. Review based on PSN version. Also available on PC.
Storm
fullfullemptyemptyempty
  • Looks really, really nice
  • Sounds really, really nice
  • But doesn't play really, really nice
  • Levels aren't fun, so why play them again?
  • Interesting idea to explore in the future, though
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   PSN, Sony, Indie

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Storm


More On GameRevolution