More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Street Fighter EX 2 Plus Review

Johnny_Liu By:
Johnny_Liu
06/01/00
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

First rule of Street Fighter: It's the same damn game.

Itching to start a fight? Well then, go outside and beat someone senseless. Sure, you're likely to hurt yourself and will probably get thrown in jail. But how much do you really know about yourself unless you get into a fight? [Didn't they just make a movie about that? - Ed (Norton)]. For all you wussie babies, go play Street Fighter.

Ah, Street Fighter - the first institution of arcade fighting, bearer of an aging legacy. All told, there have been more Street Fighter games than Friday the 13th and Nightmare on Elm Street movies combined. And like those repetitive horror, um, 'classics', the Street Fighter games just don't know when to quit..

The latest iteration comes in the form of Street Fighter EX 2 Plus, the sequel to Street Fighter EX Plus, a 3D-ification of Street Fighter II. Still, EX 2 Plus (why the hell isn't it EX Plus 2? Stupid Capcom naming system...) is still nothing more than original Street Fighter with 3D graphics. This would be fine...about a decade ago.

Remember those storylines? They always revolve around M. Bison, that mean old baddie his plans for world domination. He just goes around killing people left and right. First Chun Li's dad, then Charlie. Well, the storyline is gone. Kaput. Capcom probably figured everyone already knew it, so no point in putting it in there.

So, what have they changed with the fighting system? They've added these 'insta-combos' that are out of place. They're too easy to start and don't seem as balanced. Several moves have been remapped, and now there are these silly "excel" attacks. With the right combination of buttons, your character becomes faster. On paper is sounds fine, but it doesn't work as well as the fighting styles from SF Alpha 3.

Also included is the now mandatory Practice option, as well as a Bonus option where you just kick barrels. In an attempt to add something different, there's a Director mode. You fight for 20 seconds, and then record it to 5 spaces of memory card. Then you can take that recorded footage and edit it around making your own mini fight movie. Nice try, but who's gonna want to make a fight movie with clunky characters and average animation?

The Playstation has the power to have great-looking, well-modeled animated characters. Just look at Tekken 3 or Soul Blade. But in EX 2 Plus, the characters are blocky and noticeably jointed. Why do these street fighters look so damn chunky? Maybe because this is a 2-year-old arcade game port over.

You'll find all your standard Street Fighter regulars, from Ryu to Zangief. The new characters are nothing but cookie cutter archetypes. The crazy dude. The schoolgirl. The guy with the good hair. (Talking about me again, Johnny? - Ed.) Sheesh.

The backgrounds are above average, with animated objects and pseudo-particle effects. But it's an artificial 3D. While the camera rotates here and there around the combatants and the grainy looking floor, you're still confined to just one plane of fighting. It's a 2D game with 3D characters.

The music just feels contrived and rushed, as if the heart and soul of Street Fighter has been completely bled out, leaving just hollowed rhythms to fight against. The instrumentation doesn't sound natural and the music and sound, all in all, don't add anything to an already ho-hum fighting experience.

This might have been great 3 years ago, but nowadays Street Fighter Ex 2 Plus shouldn't even be in the ring. The 2D series is already incredibly dated. Instead of a new game, we get the same old thing in a different package. Don't be tricked into thinking that you're getting something innovative and special.

Those completely new to Street Fighter (come on out from under that rock) shouldn't start here. Purists will want to stick to the sprite-based originals; despite its age, I would still rather play Alpha 3 over EX 2 Plus. Second rule of Street Fighter: It's still the same damn game.

C- Revolution report card
  • Street Fighter can still be fun
  • Clunky looking characters
  • Looks different, plays the same
  • 'Excel" and instant combos don't add to the game
  • What does the M. in M. Bison stand for anyways?
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Street Fighter EX 2 Plus


More On GameRevolution