More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Super Scribblenauts Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
10/22/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. 
DEVELOPER 5th Cell 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence, Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Look for the boy in a funny hat.


I played the first Scribblenauts about a year ago, a day before I headed back home from visiting family in Minnesota. And admittedly, after playing a few levels, I was intrigued; for you see, I was told I could create anything my mind could think of. While that's obviously not entirely true (it also said I couldn't make anything obscene...), all I wanted to do was throw poop at the damn monkey as an alien!

click to enlargeScribblenauts has no real “story” to speak of, just a little fella named Maxwell out in the world, trying to find things called “starites” (I suppose they're like stars from Super Mario 64, but eh...). But how do you get these? By calling on the powers of... the English dictionary! Not every word is in there - again, nothing obscene, and nothing too specific like “Linda Hamilton” or too big like "Las Vegas”. But a ton of them are - oddly enough, entire constellations are in there but not a city.

If you played the original, then you know what to expect here: a plethora of puzzles that range from the very simple - give the character what they need, like giving a gun to a cop - to some form of virtual Rube Goldberg machine. But in order to do that, you must take control of the keyboard on the screen to write up what needs to come into existence. If you need a bridge, type that out. If you need a murderer (yup, there's one in there), just let the game know. The game has a fairly strong lexicon and can almost always figure out what it is you're trying to say. Sure, some of the characters look similar, but with as many different ways to say similar things. it's not too out-of-place.

This time, though – you had to know something would be different with the word “Super” in the title – there is an extended library filled with adjectives as well as nouns. No longer is one regulated just to a simple key; now that key comes in a variety of colors! Your vampires aren't just vampires, they're scary vampires... complete with a scary mask so you know they're scary! Many of the puzzles are “Adjective Levels” with the goal being to find the right items and descriptive terms to fit the bill, usually in a “noun equation” or “talent show” that fills in a necessary missing pieces. You might have to find a way to satisfy the love of a cheetah, a king, and a leprechaun... which is an interesting little conundrum.

click to enlargeUnfortunately, the action levels must be pointed out as well. There aren't many of them, which is the best thing about them, because they're more irritating than anything else. This kind of game is not slow per se, but deliberate. Trying to speed this up doesn't make much sense when controlling Maxwell with the D-pad and the stylus can be a sticky affair. It's a fun idea, but in practice it doesn't work. Even the two starting levels – one flipping levers and jumping on a button, and the other simply reaching the other side of a stage filled with spiky balls and wind machines – are terribly difficult to get through.

Thankfully, added to this new puzzle type is something that was desperately needed in the previous game: a hint system. While the original game left a player to fend for themselves, Super has a set-up where if you take a while trying new things and dawdling (in the puzzles that don't require a “first strike and you're out” rule), a timer will run out of juice and offer you a clue. You can have up to three clues per puzzle, and while they're not always very clear (which I know is the point, but c'mon), they certainly help keep a player engaged instead of prompting a quick shut-off of the game.

One extra little tidbit that can keep some players for forever is the ability to create your own stage. It's in-depth and confusing to go in totally blind, but as soon as one part – any part – is opened up for the first time, a little help window opens up to give some tips and insight. It's a good way of going about teaching players how to use it, but the text is a little bit hard to read with a font that doesn't lend itself to too much reading (one of the little ironies about a game based around words, I guess).

click to enlargeThose little problems I have with the first game, like how twitchy and off the touch controls are, and how annoying it is to connect two items together via chains or rope, are notably improved here. Even the character animations feel a little less jagged and jerky. Hell, the whole package feels refined, less like a concept and more like a fleshed-out package.

5th Cell broke ground with the first, and the second is a beautiful package. A really determined player can find the “ending” after only a few afternoons of play, but the fun is messing around with the language to see just what you can get away with instead of powering through a speed-run. Sure it's short, but the more they work this formula, the sweeter it gets. Now, somebody please make a version with all of the bad words intact! I wanna say stuff that would make Bob Saget cringe!
B+ Revolution report card
  • Better camera
  • Better controls
  • Bigger dictionary
  • Cleaner graphics
  • New create-a-stage mode
  • Action stages too frustrating
  • A little light on content
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Super Scribblenauts


More On GameRevolution