More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Tales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack! Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
02/24/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle / Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER DrinkBox Studios 
DEVELOPER DrinkBox Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Alcohol Reference

What do these ratings mean?

Where no horrible gelatinous blob has gone before.


Drinkbox have managed to create something that's quite difficult in video games: humor. Honest, laugh-out-loud humor. Much of the latest downloadable title from the Toronto-based developer involves steering a monstrous alien blob through every level of our civilization until he's ultimately fuller than you or I could ever be.

That means there's fart jokes, crushed beer cans, passed-out frat boys, and Simpsons-calibur billboard jokes. This isn't the PlayStation Vita's interactive Hangover movie simulator, though. I'm talking about Tales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack, one of the better games you could be playing on your PlayStation Vita right now.


In Mutant Blobs Attack, you're tasked with helping a poor, defenseless, human-devouring blob navigate his way through over 20 levels of destructive goodness. While Drinkbox have definitely crafted a platform (and done a damn good job of it), there's more going on than you might think. Specific points throughout level will throw puzzles your way, testing your touchscreen reflexes or requiring you to navigate some tricky sequences with your magnetic powers.

The blob can control green points and push them or rotate them on their tracks. The blob can also attract itself to glowing purple surfaces or speed itself away. The more challenging levels will ask you to do all of these at the same time, forcing you to react with your index finger on screen while you feather the magnetism power to float the blob past dangerous spikes or lazers.

Drinkbox also mixes in zero-gravity rocket sequences, where you'll have to use the PlayStation Vita's analog sticks to float your way through sequences. Adding even further differentiation in each world are tilt-controlled levels.



These were some of my favorites, featuring progressive gates that require you to absorb more and more of the debris scattered around the level. Some of the visual overlays subtlely nod to previous handheld devices. You'll have to wait and see what I mean.

Perhaps the best part about Mutant Blobs Attack is the self-referential and always goofy humor. Sure, you might seem crazy for laughing to yourself on the bus, but at least people won't know that you're laughing at a fart joke or the fact that you just ate a whole troop of fishermen.


The final levels really dial up the crazy, but it doesn't take enough time to get there. This game is short, but the quality is high. For the price admission, I would argue that it's worth it: Mutant Blobs Attack is only $8, making it the cheapest game on the PlayStation Vita.

When all is said and done, this is an appropriately priced, raccous romp of a platformer. There are hidden goodies throughout each level and more than enough replayability. I guarantee you'll miss most of the jokes the first time through.

If you need something to break up Uncharted and WipEout or any of the PlayStation Vita's hardcore titles, Tales From Space: Mutant Blobs Attack will more than do the trick. Don't hesitate to download it right now.

Review copy provided by publisher.
Tales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack!
fullfullfullfullhalf
  • Difficulty scales appropriately
  • Mix of gameplay
  • Tilt-based levels
  • Great humor
  • Pretty short
Reviews by other members

Tags:   Vita
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Tales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack!


More On GameRevolution