More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
09/04/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Red Fly 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T What do these ratings mean?

Give me T-U-R-T-L-E POWER!

I've stuck by The Turtles for many years. Over those years, plenty of chances came along to bail on them, turn away and say, "You know what, I'm too old for you. This is getting inappropriate and you need to put on more than just a bandana." I never got there. I still haven't. These are my brothers, forever teenage, forever wise, forever developing. Something else is always on the horizon for Leonardo, Donatello, Raphael, and Michelangelo. (Don't you dare mention, Venus...)

Out of the Shadows is based on Nickelodeon's current television series, complete with voices and overall turtle design, but you might not guess it from the look in-game. When I said that the half-shelled foursome had something on the horizon, I was referring to Michael Bay's upcoming movie. God help us all. Playing even an hour of Out of the Shadows proves it's been used as a test bed for a full-blown retail movie tie-in and that it regrettably leaves a lot of room for improvement.

Red Fly Studio rightly walked the path of past TMNT gaming greats as Turtles in Time by focusing on beat-'em-up combat with interaction between the turtles. A single player can switch between brothers while cooperative gamers can interact directly. Stringing together a long combo requires coordination and it goes a long way in making the player feel like a slick team of acrobatic ninjas… when it works. Sometimes it doesn't work—the player will get stuck in the geometry, or the camera breaks. Out of the Shadows is buggy and not at all serviceable for anyone accustomed to tighter controls from Activision's other titles.

Still, I—and any other turtle fan—can appreciate the inspired take on the ninja team's unique visuals and gameplay. The turtle models aren't completely offensive as each turtles look draws from the comic's angles and aggression more than Nickelodeon's rather childish lines. Environments look suitably moody and enemies like the mousers and a few bosses I won't spoil have impressive looks and animations, until they bug out or you get bored of the menial grind through levels.

While attacking, dodging, and countering work well, the turtle switching feels disjointed and rough. It's a promising idea given it's the greatest representation of how the turtles fight on-screen. Even as a solo player, your fellow turtles will battle alongside you leaving just enough room for you to switch control and finish the job. Unfortunately, there's no reason to switch and no advantage other than minimally extending a combo. Hacking away with your favorite turtle's favorite weapon will do just fine.

The situation improves in multiplayer, but not by much. Without the wealth of new tools and new weapons only a trust-fund can afford, the turtles get more repetitive and so do the opponents. Hordes of baddies can knock you down repeatedly while special moves only do so much to liven things up. The building blocks are there, but combat struggles to maintain interest, and the comic-book cut-scenes are worse. The voice actors don't even sound as excited here as they do in the TV show.

The story is told through moving panels, but the art and color never has the same pop as the in-engine graphics, leaving me green for what could come next, but also kind of sick. Out of the Shadows is yet another bad Ninja Turtles game. Between the game's loud and ugly UI and the glitches, bugs, and general sloppiness, there's only enough hope for the good intentions to improve next time.

While I can barely muster my inner TMNT fanboy to suffer through Michael Bay's new film, I hope the next game builds on this downloadable from Activision. Leonardo, Donatello, Raphael, and Michelangelo won't get shredded today, but there's certainly potential for mistakes to repeat themselves. At least they've got Master Splinter to teach them.

Review based on Xbox 360 version. Code provided by publisher. Also available on PS3 and PC.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows
fullfullhalfemptyempty
  • Dark, comic book-inspired look
  • Nerdy fan service
  • Mechanics are full of good ideas
  • Poor execution
  • Glitches, some game-breaking
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows