More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Terra Nova Review

By:
Thomas_Garcia
06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Looking Glass Technologies 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

I bring you treasures from the new world.

A well set balance between plot and action, Terra Nova successfully blends together a good story line and relevant missions. Somewhat of a mix between Wing Commander and Mechwarrior, I really liked the relationship between the missions and movies. The missions kept everything interesting, while the movies added a little more to the game than simply running around shooting bad guys.

One part of the game that I appreciated was the variety, shape and form of the terrain. With all the hills to hide behind, trees to watch out for, and deep ravines to jump into, the environment made the game much better than it ever could have been with flat terrain. In fact, one of the most important tools you learn to use to your advantage is the environment. If you don't know how to take cover in an emergency or use a depression to ration the number of bad guys that come at you at once, you'll get fried in a second! A great idea that I haven't seen in any other competing games of this class is the change of weather. Sometimes it was very foggy, other times sunny, and the best effect was definitely rainy. All changes in weather effected some aspect of play: your detectability, visual range, or weapons accuracy. The rest of the graphics are somewhat mediocre, but looking at the age of the game, I'll cut them a little slack. I will, however, admit the game would have been much more fun with 3D textured models instead of 2D sprites.

Sound effects are of no deciding matter in this game. Definitely not stunning, the music was normal; the effects weren't original, but they weren't generic either. I didn't find the audio portion influenced my view on the game at all. Nothing great, but they served their purpose just fine.

I liked the keyboard interface a lot, it was well thought out and actually required a little skill and practice. You had to use your mouse to move around the viewing screen to target and shoot people, while maneuvering your suit with the 'w,' 'a,' 'd,' 'x' keys. I didn't like the fact that you couldn't change the keyboard keys to your convenience, but the interface was well designed in the first place, and there were just a few minor keys that I would have liked to move around.

The variety of missions is what really kept me playing this game. The interesting plot kept me wanting to beat each level to find out what happened next, along with missions that really did have different objectives almost every time. I really enjoyed the fact that there were very few "Kill 'em all" missions. Personally, I like a game that requires a little more analytical thinking than to just 'blow up everything as quickly as possible'. Terra Nova included reconnaissance missions, escort missions, rescuing missions, and also demolition missions (those were really fun!). But each mission was unique, new and there was always something to be discovered. The advancement in technology during the game kept everything fresh, forcing you to find to new tactics and change to different strategies that have been obsolete since mission 1. And by no means does new technology only mean guns. There were advancements in suits, weapons, armors, and stealth technology/detectability. The combination of all these aspects made Terra Nova much better than games like Mechwarrior.

The controls for Terra Nova also feel different than those of Mechwarrior. Mechwarrior was based more upon a tank setup, with a rotating turret, throttle control, etc., the only difference was the fact that you bounced up and down as if you were walking. In Terra Nova, it's more like Doom or Quake, instead of having throttle control, you can walk forward, backward or strafe sideways. This adds more maneuverability making the game more intense and fast paced.

Terra Nova is a fun, action, first person game. Not like Doom where your only objective is to shoot everything that moves, and not like Mechwarrior where you can get shot 30 times and you only lose an arm, but instead, a great mix of maneuverability, skill and tactical awareness. I really enjoyed this game, and if you have great system, the game is even better with the terrain settings on high.Terra Novawas fun, adventurous, constantly fresh, with good replay value, and definitely worth the bucks.

B+ Revolution report card
  • Great Mix of Action and Plot
  • Great Terrain
  • Never a Boring Mission
  • Missions Tie Into Story
  • Good Interface
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Terra Nova