More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Cave Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
02/08/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 3 
PUBLISHER Double Fine 
DEVELOPER Double Fine 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Fantasy Violence, Blood

What do these ratings mean?

Cave in.

Traditional adventure games always fascinate me, especially some of the older, classic titles I might've missed the chance at playing for one reason or another. They fascinate me because, by and large, I'm terrible at them. The point-and-click ones, I mean. One prominent example is Myst, which to this day I can't get through without a heaping load of help from the Webbernet. There's just something about some puzzles I can't handle, and it bothers me. And I know it's not just me… if the thing's too hard, it loses a lot of appeal. If it's too easy, the same thing happens.

But the true greats of the genre have found that balance of hair-pulling frustration and "skipping through a forest of attractive people" happiness that we all long for. The Cave, while not terrifically hard, finds some of that middle ground.



On the surface, its story sounds like a sure-fire hit: a self-aware cave with depths that can't ever be truly known, hosting life lessons for a batch of driven, crazy people (crazy over what, you have to play to find out) for the education and amusement of anyone watching. But dig a little deeper, and it has some of the most amusing puzzles and situations I've ever found in a game. That it technically falls under the guise of "side-scroller" makes me even happier. That it controls with few glitchesapart from some obvious ones like the "eternal fall" animation between two objects that are just far apart enough that a playable character can't "land"is very, very nice.

Each run through the cave itselfin order to finish every puzzle, it has to be played through at least three timesrequires three characters to be chosen from the opening, nameless roster of seven: the Time-Traveler, the Hillbilly, the Knight, the Scientist, the Monk, the Twins, and the Adventurer. Selection is important, as it determines which areas of the Cave you're able to explore, with each character having their own unique ability to contribute. The Time-Traveler, for example, can teleport forward past what might otherwise be blocked areas, while the Adventurer can grapple-hook-swing over wide pits or reach certain high spaces. But they're only special when used the right way… otherwise, a given character will just glow awkwardly and not do much.



This game is designed akin to the classic Maniac Mansion (though I didn't see any chance to put a hamster in a microwave, which made me sad), but this time with three players in mind. Yup, it can be played with multiple players, but works just fine going solo. Bouncing between characters is actually fun, as in many instances it allows players to explore the entire area they find themselves in and helps a bit with the large amount of backtracking involved in the bulk of the puzzles.

I would have liked to see more animation and exploration into each character, but instead their stories are left to the environments and a handful of notes to portray whatever brought them into the Cave in the first place. It's not a major complaint, but fleshing out the backgrounds more wouldn't have hurt, even if they're almost placeholders more than they are people.

I can forgive the little issues, though, because of what all is done obviously right: engaging NPCs who both help and hinder the tasks of each puzzle, the stylized world, the voice-overs of both the NPCs and the Cave itself, and the $15 price point. The voice-overs and plays on words, especially in the Time-Traveler's section, had me laughing out loud, and the voices themselves are surprisingly fitting. A single playthrough might not be very long, but be prepared to keep playing… you're gonna. And you'll enjoy it!

Code provided by publisher. Review based on PS3 version.
The Cave
fullfullfullfullempty
  • Beautiful art style
  • Voice-overs are top-notch
  • Inexpensive for the quaity
  • Some minor glitches throughout
  • Lots of backtracking
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   Double Fine

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Cave