More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

The Dame Was Loaded Review

By:

06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Philips Media 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Realistic Violence

What do these ratings mean?

A man with an alias is a man with a secret.

Scott Anger is a detective. A month ago, his unfaithful girlfriend was shot by an unidentified man before his eyes in an alley behind his detective agency. He's spent the interim drowning his sorrows. Now, however, he has a case. Dan Klein has disappeared, and Scott Anger has been paid to find him. The Dame Was Loaded is a caricature of every film noir detective movie in existence. On the outset, it sounded promising, but it doesn't deliver. Instead of laughing as Anger delivers his lines, I cringed. Every time Anger leaves Meg's Diner, I am forced to endure:

"Where's the tip?"
"Where's the service?"

Anger is not funny or profound, just annoying. After hearing the dialogue for the first time, I expected to instruct you to forget about this game and to go rent Chinatown, a brilliant 40s detective movie starring Jack Nicholas; it'll cure your thirst for film noir and entertain you at the same time.

Yes, I had intended to advise you of this, but then something odd happened. The intrigue of the game grabbed me. The plot lures you in with quick finds and obvious developments, and then the time comes to dig in and really think. I discovered that it is actually an intelligent game in a disappointing wrapper. So, with my left index finger poised on the Escape button (it skips the immediate dialogue), I ventured forth into Anger's plot.

Everyone in the game is out for themselves, and you are left to ask yourself, "what is hidden here?" "why is that important?" and "how can I get him to speak with me?" The mystery would be easy, if there weren't a time limit. You have 3 days of Scott Anger time, then the game ends. Saving your games isn't a very effective strategy, as the only way to move forward is to notice something you hadn't noticed before -- and that's obviously not going to happen while the game is saved and your machine is off. Although I wound up playing a lot of poker and eating tons of donuts, somewhere in all the monotony, the game caught my attention. It is now my sworn mission to one day find Dan Klein!

The Dame Was Loaded is live-action and pretty good looking. Keeping in mind that sound is of the utmost importance in this game (all information is relayed vocally), sound is unfortunately what ruins this game. Whether it's horrible jazz or trite sayings, I just wanted to rip out my sound card. The control is quite simple. The game is geared to what you do, not how fast you do it. It's easy to maneuver, except in the office. For some inexplicable reason, you can only reach the couch immediately after entering the building. If you sit down at your desk, the only way to get to the couch is to go to the car and come back in. Though it's not very important, it's still annoying - possibly a sloppy oversight by the design techies who worked on the game.

All in all, The Dame Was Loaded was a decent idea that was poorly implemented; entertaining but badly made. Mediocre actors and terrible dialogue almost wrecked a fairly good game. When the dialogue gets too annoying, just remember that the escape button is your friend.

C+ Revolution report card
  • Good Plot.
  • Poor Execution.
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Dame Was Loaded


More On GameRevolution