More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Splatters Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
04/13/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Microsoft Game Studios 
DEVELOPER SpikySnail 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Today is a dirty way to die.


The Splatters is an interesting one, a physics-based puzzle game featuring blobs of sentient goo flying around trying to blow up bombs. It always makes me wonder how people get ideas for games, but I figure it's a process either I may never quite understand or I can't handle the drug load necessary to think something that odd is "a good idea". Not to imply they're actually doing drugs, but I can't understand how this comes to be a thing otherwise.

That said, it's a surprising amount of fun and challenge for the 800 points. In a style reminiscent of Worms, players have a small handful of special "stunts" to choose from: re-direction, power shots, rewinding to reverse direction, and a few other skills to buff out their slimy repertoire. And how do the bombs explode exactly? By splattering the conscious goos all over them like a liquid trigger! The more I think about it, the more grossed out I find myself. *shudder*



The puzzles range from easy one-stunt plans to some tricky, slippery craziness. Controlling is simple and easy to figure out, along with a tutorial mode that's very clear in helping grab the essentials. This is an example of pure gameplay for the sake of gameplay; if a mistake is made, it's obviously the fault of the player and not the game itself. Each stage is filled with loops, spikes, and crevices to aim for (and even lose a stray bomb into). Get ready, you masochists, you!

It's an interesting visual, somewhere between traditional animation and claymation in appearance. The whole thing looks almost akin to a pop-up book or maybe a board game with some raised bits and pieces. The Splatters themselves are like adorable little gelatin molds being shot around the stages and exploding on queue (or on spikes, whatever helps with exploding). When the goo has already popped and it's flying like a kid down a water slide, it looks really great and flows super-smoothly over the platforms.



With most puzzles being filled with Splatters to toss around, I'm a little surprised there's no way to play with a friend; I could see co-op missions being a lot of fun, whether played concurrently or one player moving at a time. There are high score boards, but that's just never the same.

That gripe aside, for a simplistic puzzle game for such a low price I can't find much of anything wrong with The Splatters. The control is tight, it looks great, contains a significant number of puzzles, and it's light on bells and whistles. It's everything to expect from the price point but is definitely an amusing way to spend a few minutes at a time, not meant to suck hours and hours into. It's splattery, just not sticky.

Code provided by publisher.
The Splatters
fullfullfullfullempty
  • Control is tight
  • Game is pretty
  • Steady difficulty level
  • Very affordable
  • No multiplayer
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.



More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Splatters