More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Time Crisis: Razing Storm Review

Kevin_Dermody By:
Kevin_Dermody
10/29/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rail Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER NAMCO BANDAI Games America Inc. 
DEVELOPER NAMCO BANDAI Games America Inc. 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Two out of three isn't half bad.


Let me lay out the scenario for you. You're in an arcade (a dying breed of attraction, I know, but work with me here). You're standing before two machines: Time Crisis 4, a cover-based rail-shooter; and Deadstorm Pirates, a virtual carbon-copy of the more popular House of the Dead rail-shooter. You have $1.00, just enough to play one game. Which do you play?

click to enlargeBefore answering, let's change the scenario. You now own both arcade games, which turns the above nightmare scenario into something of a fantasy. Your answer should now be "I'll play both games, whenever the hell I want, until I am a shade of the human being I once was because I haven't seen the sun in days oh god I'm dying but I can't stop playing because I no longer have to waste my entire paycheck trying to beat that one level you know which level I'm talking about the one with the stupid nanobugs..."

Excuse me. If it hasn't already become painfully clear, I am a huge fan of most on-rails arcade shooters, where you control nothing more than the shower of bullets. I can admit, with no small amount of shame, to wasting hundreds of quarters on these games. Which is why I want to give Time Crisis: Razing Storm an 'A+', a 100%, a super-kudos. I want to, I really do! It includes two awesome, epic games that mimic the arcade shooter experience perfectly - the health bar, the horrifying story, the addictive pick-up-and-play mechanics that are most certainly the key to draining your wallet.

It's just... the third game, the titular game that's the problem. Describing, reliving its horror, is comparable to slowly sipping unleaded gasoline. When juxtaposed against the other two games, it feels as though someone pissed in a Red Bull and handed it to me. If all there was a way to drink around the piss...

There is no singular flaw that spells failure for Razing Storm. Each unfortunate aspect works in tandem with the other, dancing in a curious form of art that seems to spell "screw you" on the winds of a flatulant elephant. The plot proceeds past "laughable", sprints through the land of "so bad, it's good", and sits firmly in "land where we take ourselves super serious despite the undeniable fact that we are sitting in crap".

click to enlargeThe sounds are repetitive and horrifyingly overbearing, such that you cannot take five steps without your AI teammates screeching cliché dialogue or without hearing the terrifying noise of shoddily recorded gunfire. The visuals are overdone and super "awesome-ized", to the point that the environment looks to be composed of plastic, bubble wrap, and cooking spray. And the controls are so out of sync with the game.- Attempting to move in a straight line will often leave your character jumping wildly around like he's tripping on LSD.

So I'm not going to talk about Razing Storm. It's not a game worth buying, and it's not a game worth reviewing. To call it a game in the first place seems anathema to the very definition of a game. But Time Crisis 4 and Deadstorm Pirates are worth talking about.

These two games are, as described earlier, taken straight from an arcade machine. They are not meant to be played for their articulate and well-thought-out story, or even their epic graphics or wonderful sound effects. In fact, the only thing that truly sets these two apart from Razing Storm are their excellent controls and simple but fun gameplay mechanics. And that is, quite frankly, enough to turn a "crappy" game into an "awesome" game.

In Time Crisis 4, you play some sort of secret agent with wild hair. Does it really matter who you are? You use one button to move into cover (and subsequently reload), and one button to fire. When you pop out of cover, you shoot things. When things start shooting you, you move into cover.

click to enlargeIn Deadstorm Pirates, you play as a pirate, I guess. It operates in the same manner as Time Crisis 4, but simpler; you never have to reload, and you use a single button to fire. You play through a cheesy story killing zombie pirates and giant snakes.

The difficulty curve of each game is such that, if you can beat the game without using any "continues", you must be some sort of god - and yet, the mechanics are so incredibly simple, it seems to be stylized for the sheer joy of playing for the sake of playing. There seems to be an exponential level of euphoria related to the number of players, too. Run through the game on your own, and that's a pretty good afternoon totally worth wasting, but get your friend in on the action for some couch-zombie-killin'? Best. Day. Evar.

If you decide to by Time Crisis: Razing Storm, you will do so for the sole benefit of owning Time Crisis 4 and Deadstorm Pirates, two excellent arcade titles structured around the concept of "fun for the sake of fun". And quite frankly, that alone is easily worth $40-$50.
C+ Revolution report card
  • Two additional titles are great arcade ports
  • ...and for the cost of one!
  • All three games seem to be PS2-era games
  • Razing Storm not worth playing at all
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Time Crisis: Razing Storm