More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Trickstyle Review

Johnny_Liu By:
Johnny_Liu
11/01/99
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 2- 2 
PUBLISHER Acclaim 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Sorry Rabbit, but Trickstyle is for… oh never mind, take it.

Growing up in the 80s, I have memories of all those wacky Back to the Future movies. Marty McFly, Doc Emmett Brown and that decked out Delorean… sure, the second one didn't always make a lot of sense, but it had hover boards. After that movie, I'm sure even the most hardcore skaters would've given up a first-born child for a crack at a neon pink Mattel hover board.

So, my question is: where are OUR hover boards? It's almost the year 2000, and we have yet to even see a prototype. Aren't we America, rulers of science and capitalism, mighty forces working hand in hand to make cooler stuff than those other countries? What is up with that? Man, we need another Cold War to get our lazy scientists off their duffs.

Where normal science fails, computer programmers try to pick up the slack. No hoverboards?--lets make a game about it. At least that's what the marketing department said. The end result is Trickstyle, a confused, but pretty one-trick-pony that isn't all that fun to ride.

There's some plot in here, but its pointless to the actual game. People from all around the world come together to race on hover boards through the futuristic cityscapes of London, Manhattan, and Tokyo. These areas are all linked to one another by the Velodrome--a hub-like stadium where you can practice your tricks.

The controls are smooth overall, but a little loose. You have your basic acceleration, and then your jumps and tricks. Trick execution can be combo-ed for some more advanced stunts. However, tricks are only necessary for the Trick challenges in the game, where you try to accumulate a set amount of points in a short time.

Winning the races is really just a matter of not screwing up. Try to keep level and spin attack into your enemies. When going downhill, switch to luge mode and try to gain some speed. Thers just not much more to it, skill-wise. All in all, the feeling of a good race just isn't there.

In better racing games, when you win a race, you actually feel like you did something to win that race. You've learned how to maneuver better, and up until the hard-fought end when you pull ahead of that one last contender, you feel like you're making an effort to win. Not so in Trickstyle. Every victory I made felt random, not earned -- that this time I was just a little luckier than the time before.

There are some clever track designs, with shortcuts and different levels of track, but it never really flowed. Each city has 5 tracks, but each of the five tracks look too much like one another, differing only in time of day. Some of them even have you going backwards through a previously completed track.

There's a practice/teaching area where you meet an incredibly annoying trainer that sends you out to do chore-like learning exercises. This guy also pops up elsewhere in the game to hand out unwarranted insults and advice.

On the other hand, the game looks pretty good. In some areas the graphics can be simply beautiful -- city landmarks scattered on the horizon coupled with nice lighting effects. But the framerate has a lot of hiccups. Framedrops, especially in 2 player mode is the norm.

Want to choose a racer? You can select from among such popular candidates as a Spice Girl, a Power Ranger, and even a M. Bison look alike. The familiar racially stereotyped selection is once again in play. As a supporter of affirmative action, I like seeing different races represented in video game characters, but please don't make that counter effective by using lousy, stereotyped voice samples.

In addition to the oh-so-annoying voices, there is also the matter of the music… how should I put this? Personally, I think I have a broad appreciation of music (10 gigabytes of MP3s, baby). Concerning the music in Trickstyle, I can unflinchingly say that I'd rather be smacked upside the head by a hammer -- at least that would feel better than listening to the overmixed wails that they call music.

In the end, Trickstyle didn't have nearly enough to make me happy. There are some good separate parts, but its all been tossed together in the hopes that it would equate to a fun game -- it didn't. Hey American scientists! I'm sorry for what I said. Make me a real hover board so I don't have to play Trickstyle.

C- Revolution report card
  • Some pretty graphics
  • Mostly good control
  • Not all that fun to play
  • What they call music
  • Framerates
  • Gimmicky
  • That daaamn trainer
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Trickstyle


More On GameRevolution