More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Warexp Review

By:

06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Blizzard 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

"Why do you keep touching me?"

Well... because I can't help it. WarCraft II continues to be the most addictive game on my computer. And just as I solved both sides of the first installment, Blizzard gives us more of that sweet, sweet heroin... oops I mean WarCraft!

WarCraft II: Beyond the Dark Portal is an expansion set, and you need to have the original WarCraft II in order to play it. If you are unfamiliar with the game, please click on the word WarCraft II for a full review.

Beyond the Dark Portal has 24 new scenarios for your enjoyment. For those of you who found the old campaigns too easy, these are more difficult. Also you can step through the dark portal and visit the orc homelands! The Orc world is darker, muddier, and has vines crawling all over everything, including your buildings. This is the biggest difference between the expansion and the original.

There are no new units, which is disappointing, but there are new heroes. These legendary heroes, both orcish and human, are there to assist you on many of the campaigns. While you can order Kargath Bladefist and Alleria around like normal units, these heroes have strength and powers beyond those of normal soldiers.

There are also about 50 new maps (PUD's) that you can use for your own amusement, or for individual battles or network play. You also have access to the orc homelands terrain types if you are creating your own maps with the WarCraft Editor.

On the whole, this is a good expansion set. Although it took six months longer for the Mac version to come out, and it doesn't have quite enough new stuff to really satisfy, it's still a new dose of WarCraft!

B+ Revolution report card
  • New campaigns.
  • Cool heroes.
  • Orcish homelands.
  • No new units.
  • Mmmmmm... more WarCraft!
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Warexp