More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

WEAPON SHOP de OMASSE Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
02/21/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Level-5 
DEVELOPER Level-5 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violent References, Suggestive Themes, Partial Nudity, Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

We can’t all be the hero of light.

The Final Fantasy series would have us believe that we just need a few friends, maybe one guy as a gil-stealing thief with a sword that's preferably twice our size and full of magic stones, and an airship. Now where the hell am I going to get an airship? Those things don’t grow on trees, at least not like my sword’s magic stones. There’s a point in every role-playing game where I want to throw my hands up, move home, and open my very own item shop instead.

Enter Weapon Shop de Omasse. There have been few other games that explore what it would mean to be a hero around town, the savior of wallets bursting with credits rather than the savior of the entire freakin’ universe. Jeez, universe, how about you back off while I’m recovering from amnesia? Stop trying to thrust the fate of the entire world on me when I want nothing more than a register and a stockpile of carefully-priced weapons. Despite the simple life’s appeal, I couldn’t help but feel like hiring a helping hand so I could still get some adventuring in.



 

Weapon Shop de Omasse is the final entry in Level-5’s Guild 01 series with each game slowly making its way stateside via the Nintendo 3DS' eShop. Guild 01 isn’t so much a series as it is a collection of concepts developed just enough to give us a few interesting new games to play. While Aero Porter puzzled gamers with sorting luggage at an airport and Liberation Maiden gave us control over a mecha-piloting president, Crimson Shroud and Weapon Shope de Omasse both take interesting looks at role-playing games, with Weapon Shop focusing on rhythm-based weapon-crafting for the adventuring heroes out to save the universe.

Players will be introduced to the father-son duo running Omasse’s weapon shop before learning the weapon-crafting ropes that rely heavily on the 3DS touchscreen. Players tap the screen to a beat to successfully forge hot metal into a new weapon, but it’s not as simple as tapping anywhere on the touchscreen. While keeping the beat, the metal must be shaped into different types of weapons including axes, spears, and swords while maintaining the material temperature with fire and water.

If it sounds confusing, it’s because in practice it kind of is. Seeing the gameplay in action connects a lot of dots, so I can’t fault Weapon Shop for trying something totally new and unique in spite of mounting confusion. For a rhythm game, it’s as inventive as Elite Beat Agents, though not nearly as joyous and exuberant about would-be mundanity. The father and son shop duo make for plenty of entertaining and winking dialogue, but repeating actions over and over again gets stale fast.

Every weapon made gets stats assigned based on the quality of work. Screw up a katana and its critical hit rate will drop or it’ll be missing a desired special effect, but no matter the result, it usually comes close to the specs the customer desires. Once the happy customer leaves, Weapon Shop gives status updates from the adventure and if the journey is completed, the shop will finally receive payment. If the adventurer should fall, the weapon will be destroyed and our blacksmiths will never see a cent for their hard work.

Risk versus reward doesn’t really come into the equation. Either do the job right or forge a metal cup to collect change around town. While the writing is genuinely funny, especially for RPG fans who’ll get all the inside jokes and absurdities, the overall experience feels repetitive and not all that rewarding. Weapon Shop de Omasse light-heartedly pokes fun at role-playing games, but more often than not I felt inspired to go live the grand adventures my customers set out on.

Anyone with only a passing interest in epic hundred-hour tales of good and evil should stay away. With the game costing only $7.99 as a digital download, those steeped in the Japanese role-playing games will love mixing a massive adventure and Weapon Shop during long gaming sessions.

Code provided by publisher. Exclusive to Nintendo 3DS.

WEAPON SHOP de OMASSE
fullfullfullemptyempty
  • Rhythm-based touchscreen gameplay
  • Silly turns on classic JRPG clichés
  • A totally different look at adventurers
  • Repetitive
  • Not too much depth
  • Made me want to go on an adventure myself
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   3DS, Nintendo, Level-5
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about WEAPON SHOP de OMASSE