More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Whiteout Review

By:
Michael_Johnson
02/01/03
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Konami 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Strong Lyrics

What do these ratings mean?

Making a molehill out of a mountain.

When I was about 8 years old, my mom put me on a soccer team. Unfortunately, she put me on the 9 year-olds' team, because I was on the cusp and she probably figured I'd learn something from the older kids. The result was that everybody was bigger and stronger than me, knew each other a year longer and had that much more training than me, as I had never kicked a soccer ball in my life.

For this reason I can almost sympathize with Konami's Whiteout for the PS2. It is an ill-conceived game placed in an arena full of power-players like SSX Tricky and Freekstyle. Underdeveloped by Vicarious Visions, Whiteout's inadequacies are accentuated by the fact that it tries so hard to bite the styles of EA Big's bad ass games, particularly Freekstyle. Thus, not only does Whiteout lack the power or creativity behind it to realistically compete, but it has no identity of its own. This game is a flawed clone.

And what's with the name? Whoever named this game Whiteout (which is also the name of the world's most famous correction fluid) had a sick sense of masochistic humor. No wonder Vicarious Visions' logo isn't to be found on the box, but only in the very back of the instruction booklet, because only a sucker would want to own up to releasing this stinker.

A snowmobile racer at heart, Whiteout's basic play mechanics are solid, at least. You press accelerate, you go. You press turn, you turn. So far, so good. You go over a hill, and your guy even sort of jumps, and, while in the air, you can do tricks! And then you crash, because the hill was too small and you were ballsy enough to try and execute a Can-Can. The main problem with the gameplay is that there isn't anything particularly snowmobile-ish to it. The secondary problem with the gameplay is that there isn't anything unique to it at all.

For example: tricks and turbo. In Freekstyle, the two were related, creating a fascinating play dynamic that led to a Freekout, which could be strategically timed to simply kick ass on a course. The idea was great, but there is nothing like that here. You just race and trick and crash and burn.

There are four game modes: Career, Arcade, Time-trial and 2-player. Thrilling. In Career mode, you race for cash against other players. More cash buys better 'mobiles, 'better' being a very subjective word. Turbo boosts and cash bonuses are scattered throughout the courses, giving the game a more arcadey look than those games it attempts to emulate.

Arcade mode is a little more interesting in that you have to meet certain objectives to advance, like jumping a ditch or getting a certain trick score. What's so cool about having these requirements separate from Career mode is that you don't have to deal with them if you want to just race.

Graphically, Whiteout is mediocre. The game's name (other than admitting that this game is a mistake and needs to be erased) is apparently based on the plethora of snow storms which nearly white-out the screen. They don't look half-bad, though they don't do the framerate any favors. The character animations are plain, the crashes are plain, and the flaming hoops you jump through are straight out of Freekstyle.

Aurally, the game features two announcers who repeat themselves constantly, a 'hardcore' soundtrack, and annoying buzzing sounds meant to invoke the whine of a snowmobile's motor. The worst feature here is undoubtedly the soundtrack, yet strangely the most fitting. For example, in better games it's a shame to be rocking out to such crappy music, whereas here...I dunno, it almost works.

Whiteout is a classic example of an underachieving video game. It is not unique or special in any way, shamelessly biting the style of other, more polished titles. Erasing this game from your memory is probably a good idea.

D Revolution report card
  • Playable
  • Totally unoriginal
  • Sketchy appearance
  • Bland modes
  • Boring gameplay
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Whiteout