More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade Review

Tim_Tackett By:
Tim_Tackett
01/24/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE MMORPG 
PLAYERS 1- 9999 
PUBLISHER Blizzard 
DEVELOPER Blizzard 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The second fix isn't free.

Recently in our forums, someone asked why we don’t re-grade games that receive content updates. After all, World of Warcraft has been patched so regularly, it’s hardly the same game we reviewed over two years ago. That got us thinking, with so many balance tweaks, bug fixes, and new dungeons, Azeroth is definitely better than ever before. But, is it still just as exciting? Cue the answer, a.k.a., The Burning Crusade. For forty bucks this highly anticipated expansion adds a Traveler’s Pack of new content to the most massively played MMO, ever. But is it the epic drop we’ve been hoping for, or just an act of corporate gold farming? 

For one full week, yours truly was given full clearance to play as much WoW as I could handle, at work, in an attempt to answer this question. In my extensive journeys through the Outland, I discovered that The Burning Crusade is full of the same legendary play that lured eight million people to the original. Yet for forty dollars, it feels like Blizzard is asking us to pay for the game all over again. I love the new areas, levels and abilities, but after two years, hundreds of dollars in monthly payments and a forty dollar trip to the store, the Dark Portal could be a little brighter.
 
click to enlargeMost of my joy comes from simply having new stuff to do. Over the last two years, routine patches to World of Warcraft have added multiple endgame instances to keep the hardiest of the hardcore raiding away nightly to score epic items. So for those players tired of the same ol’ thing, the addition of a new continent, is a pretty amazing sight. 
 
The Outland is comprised of seven zones to propel you to the previously unreachable level 70 through quests, PvP objectives, and a handful of new instances. The zones themselves are varied geographically, from the Hellfire Peninsula’s barren wastes to the shattered pieces of Netherstorm and the dusky Zangarmarsh. There are a ton of fantastical landscapes here just waiting to be explored.
 
However, not much changed about the game itself. This is largely the same thing we’ve been playing for two years, with more places to go and more items to lust after. Most of the new PvP objectives involve tower-capturing ala the Eastern Plaguelands, but there are a few good variations, like incorporating flag-running into tower capture. It’s fun, to be sure, but not revolutionary. Probably the best new feature is the addition of flying mounts. Only available at level 70 to players with deep virtual pockets, these beasties let you soar all over Outland and get to otherwise unreachable stuff, or drop in on unwary noobs.
 
The other big reason to get to 70 is the new arena system. Although you can try out ‘practice’ matches with two, three, or five man teams, only players at maximum level can compete to earn arena points, which function like honor points.  There will also be seasons to the arena, with the highest ranked teams getting some seriously rare items.
 
click to enlargeOn the way to the new level cap, you can pick up the new profession, Jewelcrafting. This allows players to cut gems which can then be popped into new, socketed items. Matching the color of a gem to the socket color of an item gives additional stat bonuses. On top of that, Jewelers can also make a ton of rings, necklaces, and other doodads to boost stats.
 
It’s a bummer that Blizzard chose not to incorporate any new classes into the game along with the new races. The new races now give both factions the ability to access all of the classes in the game, which feels like a cop-out, and removes much of the differentiation between the Alliance and the Horde. Both of the new races (Draenei and Blood Elves) have their own new low-level zones and capital cities, but ultimately end up running through the same content everyone else has been doing for years.
 
The saying "If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” comes to mind when I think about The Burning Crusade, and in that sense, Blizzard has done well. Then again, where’s the honor in charging forty dollars to not fix something that wasn’t broken?
 
Sure, you get a new continent, ten levels to gain, and hundreds of quests, but compared to EVE Online’s upcoming free expansion (which includes a total graphical overhaul) it’s easy to be a bit under-whelmed, and feel a bit overcharged. About as easy as, oh, playing WoW until 4:30 a.m. on a workday. Trust me, that’s easy. We’ll just have to hope Blizzard uses our newly spent millions to get Worlds of Starcraft up and running. Until then, we’ll see you at 70.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade