More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Wreckateer Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
07/23/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Arcade 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Iron Galaxy Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Crude Humor

What do these ratings mean?

Better check yourself....


As the sole Kinect title in this year's Summer of Arcade, Iron Galaxy's Wreckateer has more or less slipped under everyone's radar. It didn't help that it was priced at just $10 toothe rest of the XBLA game lineup is comprised of $15 titles. But in a way, that's also a good thing.

When it comes to Kinect, the Wii remote, or the PlayStation Move, it's good to keep your expectations low. Motion gaming can be extremely hit or miss. Perhaps by emulating one of the most successful mobile games, Wreckateer can buck the trend and prove worthy of your time.


Of course, "worthy of your time" is a subjective statement that likely means something different for you than it does for me. Maybe you really like the Kinect. I had just finished cursing my Kinect and the last game I played on it. Having buried Microsoft's motion camera in a box somewhere, I bemoaned having to play this game.

I also bemoaned moving my furniture, as you'll probably need quite a bit of space for Wreckateer. Iron Galaxy sets players down in a 3D Angry Birds pallete swap. The ogres littering the brick structures you'll be destroying are green caricatures who make noises that sound just like the Angry Birds pigs.

To put it plainly, I expected trash. Everything about this game screams "lazy", "bullshit", "Kinect" (which for some is a vulgarity unto itself), and "garbage". But somehow, it's actually quite entertaining to play.


In the same vein of Peggle, Wreckateer is all about wracking up huge scores and seeing numbers pop up on-screen with tons of bells and whistles. How else would we know we were doing something right?

Of course, what eventually makes Peggle an exercise in repetition is the way many of the balls you shoot fail to differ in any way apart from the avatar's special ability. In steps Angry Birds, armed with its barebones-bird, splitting-bird, bomb-bird, and more. Taking this mechanic to heart, Iron Galaxy just needed to make it work with Kinect and create some art.

Aspiring wreckateers will utilize the flying shot, which allows you to steer your shot after firing by spreading your wings and banking left and right. You've also got a lift shot which skips like a stone on water on your command. Other shots round out the toolbox, including the speed shot and basic shot, but you get the gist.


Now all you need to do is demolish every building. This is as easy as it gets. I hate Angry Birds, half because of the threat it apparently poses to the rest of the industry, but also because it's so stupid and dull and.... I kind of suck at it. I really get angry!

Wreckateer did not make me angry one bit. If it were a movie, it would win the Oscar for Least Threatening Film. The difficulty does ramp up, but transforming Rovio's 2D physics puzzler into 3D space with an wide, expansive castle means that precision doesn't matter much. Every castle has more than several weakpoints to aim at for large scores.

In the end, Wreckateer has all the hassle of the Kinect, all the smoke-up-your-ass style of Peggle, all the gameplay of Angry Birds, and a little Shrek-style humor for good measure. Turns out that's not all bad.... There's your back of the box quote.... "Not all bad."

Code provided by publisher.
Wreckateer
fullfullfullhalfempty
  • Great (stolen) gameplay
  • A MILLION BILLION POINTS!
  • All the Angry Birds, none of the angry
  • I'm a king.
  • Kind of shallow
  • Do you have a Kinect?
  • Does it work?
  • Is your living room big enough?
  • Is it well lit?
  • What are you wearing?
  • Go change
  • OK, you don't have enough space. Move the couch.
  • Fuck it, the Kinect sucks.
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Wreckateer


More On GameRevolution